Kyoto


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto
January 26th 2011
Published: February 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

NishihonganjiNishihonganjiNishihonganji

This large temple was under construction, but as iconic as ever.
Sleeping very soundly beneath three blankets and on top of an electric blanket, I ended up oversleeping in my windowless room. So I hopped up, grabbed some コンビに (konbini "convenience store food") and dashed to the train station. Today’s destination was 京都 (Kyoto), one of the more historic cities in Japan, and I remembered it being full of excellent おみやげ (omiyage “souvenier”) shops that I had very little time to enjoy on my first visit.

I hopped on a train, managing to make it to Kyoto despite failing to plan ahead. Things always worked out for me, even though the train stations were relatively complex and mostly in Japanese. It’s amazing how quickly you can remember a language you have not used in years once you are completely immersed.

Most of the shops were closed, I went to the 西井本願寺(Nishi Hongan ji)Ji at the end of a name means temple in Japanese. Unlike the spring of 2006 when I last visited, the temple was under constuction, and mostly shut against the cold winter. Similarly, most of the shops lining the streets were closed, but I was able to get some incense that are commonly used in buddist and shinto
Dragon FountainDragon FountainDragon Fountain

A fountain used for cleansing your body before entering the temple. Traditionally people would drink from this fountain, now most people rinse their hands and then rinse and spit.
temples. On my last visit, I got my mother a incense burning kit, and she really enjoyed the incense so I was glad at the chance to restock her supplies.

I spent an Hour and a half meandering around the city rather fruitlessly, and finally decided to head back to the train station. Ironically, I discovered an underground mall there, with a section dedicated to souveniors. Sadly, I ended up getting some souvenirs from there.

The ride back was enjoyable, mostly because I managed to chat with two old ladies after asking to sit with them. There were times when I just couldn't understand what was going on, but we managed to discuss Japanese and American culture, language education, and several cities in Japan.

Ironically, after hours wondering around a large city, deciphering Japanese maps and train schedules, it was the short walk to my friends house that proved the most dangerous. Japan's road rules are ... flexible ... and many of the roads are too narrow for two cars to pass simultaneously. This was true of the bridge I was walking on, and two cars passed each other, meaning that the van had to drive onto
Bunny BlockadeBunny BlockadeBunny Blockade

Typical Japan. Why waste space with barricades when you can make them cute?
the sidewalk...where I was walking. I stopped, flattening myself against the railing (the river a good 30 ft below me) and was about to hop up onto the thin rail when the van finally swerved away from me. It was close enough to touch, and still going fast, and quite frankly was one of the most frightening experiences in my life.


Advertisement



2nd February 2011

hi
that was a frightening experience...u r actually from which place.
5th February 2011

re:Hi
I'm from the U.S., but I can hold a basic (very basic) conversation in Japanese and I am currently living in Australia. Bit of a Nomad right now!

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb