2 Days in Kyoto


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto
August 28th 2005
Published: August 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Kyoto -- Sanjo BridgeKyoto -- Sanjo BridgeKyoto -- Sanjo Bridge

My first glimpse of the city where so much of my favourite history took place.
We decided to go to Kyoto on Thursday to prepare ourselves for the "official" tour on Friday. It ended up being only Jim, Chris and myself, and we set out pretty late. We did manage to get to the Kyoto Museum before it closed, which was nice but kind of lacking. I thought they would have more Bakumatsu stuff, but I didn't really see any at all. I did learn they once had a Shinsengumi exhibit, which made me very jealous!

After that we walked around the area near Sanjo and eventually made it up to around the Imperial Palace, which was of course closed and dark. The grounds are HUGE, though! Then we went to Marutamachi and headed home.

Friday was supposed to be the tour, but we decided to go it alone by train rather than take the tour bus. Zach, Levi, Shinji, Kengo, Nao, Tsukasa and myself all got off at Sanjo station and took the bus to Kinkakuji Temple, which was one of the most amazing places I've ever seen! It was so beautiful and serene, despite the many tourists. We then prayed at the top and headed back into the city. Around... Nijo (?)
MakotoMakotoMakoto

The Shinsengumi flag, flying proudly from a shop window. I ran in and bought one right away, and it's hanging in my room now.
I think, the Japanese students bought a ton of food for us: Dango, takoyaki, some little crispy things that reminded me of lembas bread from LoTR, sushi, drinks, etc. We found a nice little sitting area and ate until we were all about to burst! It was a lot of fun, and I hope I can treat them to something someday!

After that we headed back to Osaka and walked around a bit. I was getting a headache, so I went home. The Japanese kids all went their separate ways, and Zach and Levi spent all night outside and slept on park benches. Not my idea of a good time, but they seemed to enjoy it.

Monday I don't have any classes, so I'm heading back to Kyoto by myself to track down all the stuff that no one else wanted to see: Gion, Mibu Temple (Shinsengumi!!), Nijo Palace, Seimei Shrine, and the Ikedaya monument. Lots of walking, but I'm leaving early and should have time to see a lot! Wish me luck!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

KinkakujiKinkakuji
Kinkakuji

Truly breath-taking. I felt very at peace even with all the people running around.
Kinkakuji AgainKinkakuji Again
Kinkakuji Again

I love this shot... the perspective is great. I'm glad my pictures came out so well.


28th August 2005

Nice!
The pics are gorgeous! I'm still not sure about traipsing around Kyoto alone but Hey..you're a Skajillion miles away and what can I do to stop you? Umm..Nothing? Just be careful...please??? Stay safe so I can see MORE PICTURES!! XOXOXOX ~Mom~
31st August 2005

Hi from Osaka
hi from Osaka (takatsuki shi). thanx for discovering my country :) i happened to find ur journal just now and these are nice. Take care plz, and enjoy ur stay!

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb