Our final evening in Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto
November 7th 2006
Published: November 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Geisha DanceGeisha DanceGeisha Dance

These young ladies are amazing.
Hi everyone,

(Barb, my room-mate Leona and I are still in awe at the fact that you used to babysit her children! What a small world indeed! The things I learn about my friends when I travel around the world!!!!)

Wow. What an evening we had! We went to a famous restaurant for Shabu-Shabu. (It's essentially a fondue dinner concept, only instead of using oil to deep fry everything, you use a broth.) Dinner was Miso Soup, rice, Japanese pickles, and various items for the Shabu: beef, veggies, tofu, etc. Yum. Yum. Yum! You will see from the pictures that we had a ball!

Then came the entertainment. Geisha girls entertained, and helped us with dinner as well. Then there was the Drum performance. Awesome. All of it! We had an opportunity to pose for pictures with the Geisha girls, and then to try on the kimonos as well. They are incredibly beautiful! The pictures all speak for themselves.

We leave for Hong Kong in the morning and are there until Friday afternoon, at which time we leave for Viet Nam. This is all just so much fun! Two more of my "new friends" have joined in
Geisha Dance finaleGeisha Dance finaleGeisha Dance finale

They are all so beautiful and gracious.
on the blog activities: Tina and Anne, both from Toronto. (P.S. When you leave comments/messages on the blogs, would you please just add your last initial. There are 3 Dianes, 3 Elizabeths, etc. following along......)

Signing off from Japan. Sayonara!

Pat


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Japanese Drum ShowJapanese Drum Show
Japanese Drum Show

This was an incredible performance also.
A little help with dinnerA little help with dinner
A little help with dinner

Each table had assistance from a Geisha girl so we learned about the Shabu-Shabu dinner.
Me and my new friendsMe and my new friends
Me and my new friends

We had the opportunity to pose for pictures and, as I said earlier, I'm "doing it all"
My table of friendsMy table of friends
My table of friends

Dinner was awesome. We had so much fun!
Someday our prince will come....Someday our prince will come....
Someday our prince will come....

Me and my new friend, Lynn, from Leduc!
And here he is now......And here he is now......
And here he is now......

A fun time was had by all!


7th November 2006

This is what the internet was made for!
Good morning/afternoon/evening, Happy Pat! My family and I are following your travels with great interest. When the little ones asked where Japan is, their big brother rolled his eyes (as only a big brother can) and exclaimed, 'It's ONLY on the other side of the WORLD! Canada and Alberta aren't the only places in the world, you know!' This is what the internet was made for - banking and travel blogs! I think this is brilliant! Keep your stories coming. It rained all night - very sloppy on the roads but better than a skating rink! Shine on, you crazy diamond.
7th November 2006

Japan
Well HP, it looks like you are indeed trying it all. Thanks so much for being diligent about blogging. I look forward to coming into the office and reading about your adventures. You are my inspiration!
7th November 2006

Japan
Hi Pat, I am having such a blast reading of your travels. This travelblog thing is a great idea. Your experience of Japan echos my experience from last year. One thing that stands out that you didn't mention is their use of English on signs. Our group had many a laugh and have several pictures of their interpretation of our language. I certainly concur with you about how helpful and polite the Japanese are. And if Kyoto was anything like Okinawa was for me, you would have found it an incredibly clean city. I'm so pleased you are having a wonderful time. Can't wait to read what you've been up to next!

Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 19; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1093s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb