Still Here


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto » Kyoto
April 23rd 2006
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well most folks who were in our group have headed back home now. I had left a gap in my travel plans to see what I felt like doing after the trip, and I am glad I did. I have come down with quite a cold and am quite content to stay here in Kyoto for 5 days before moving on. Gives me a chance to slow the pace a bit and rest up.

My ryokan is very friendly and helpful. The room is a traditional room with futon and tatami mats, but is very very small and the ryokan has shared facilities (fine in a place this small).

I have visited the Kiyumizudera Temple here in town and wandered the streets. The temple is quite nice since when you enter the grounds you feel like you are a thousand miles from anyhwere. Exciting news: I was walking down the street and was stopped by a Japanese American looking for directions. So he must have thought that I knew where the heck I was going to stop and ask me where he wanted to go. And the best part? I WAS ABLE TO TELL HIM EXACTLY WHERE HE NEEDED
Lobby of my RyokanLobby of my RyokanLobby of my Ryokan

The whole thing is a goldfish pond
TO GO. And then later, at the internet cafe at the tourist centre, a woman came up and asked if I lived here.

Hm.

One of the tour group members is still in Japan as well, and we are going to head out to Nara tomorrow for a day trip. Should be good.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb