Day in Nara


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Nara » Nara
April 24th 2006
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Todaji TempleTodaji TempleTodaji Temple

Look at the size of the people in front, for context
A gorgeous sunny and warm day - so a perfect day to head out on an excursion to Nara. We headed out on the train at 9 for the hour trip. Nara is not that far from Kyoto, and is a much smaller town. It is known for...wait for it...it's temple! Todaiji Temple is noteworthy though - it is HUGE! I took pictures but the scale doesn't come through until I got someone in one of the pictures. They say that this is the largest wooden structure standing, and I believe it.

Again with the deer who look much too mangy and tired. Some nice streets to stroll and window shop. And home on the 4pm train. I am really struggling to beat this cold, but am on the back side of it now I think. Just really ready to crash after a day like today. I head out to Mount Koya in 2 days and after that was supposed to go to Matsumoto and Tsumago, but am beginning to think I should just head back to Tokyo instead before heading on to China. Decisions decisions!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.289s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb