Yokohama ~ After a terrible landing, we finally saw the light of the day


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kanagawa » Yokohama
April 17th 2007
Published: April 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yokohama aka 横滨



Our flight landed at Tokyo’s Narita Airport on 6th April 2007 after more than 7 hrs in the sky, 5491 km away from Singapore. It was 1.15pm when we landed after a horrendous roller coaster experience. This was the worst I encountered in my whole life. We thought the whole plane was going to crash! As soon as the aircraft doors opened, a gush of cold wind greeted me. This was spring in Japan and the temperatures were a low of 13.7 degrees.

The Japanese Customs Officer was stern, fierce and unsmiling throughout the period he was examining my passport. After satisfying his own curiosity of the places I've been to, he finally gave me an arrival sticker blocking my Macau’s arrival stamp in the process.

Are you blind my friend?

Exchanging for our Japan Rail Pass was slow at the Ticket Office. The queues were long and there were few counters available. We finally got what we wanted and boarded the train bounded for Yokohama at 3.54pm. It was going to be another 1.5 hours journey before we managed to check into our hotel located next to Yokohama Chinatown. Finding our hotel location was a tricky business as we went round the vicinity in droves and of course taking pictures of the blooming sakuras at the same time.

In the evening, A’s sister took us for a stroll down Yokohama Chinatown where it was lined with rows of Chinese Restaurants selling similar fare. We did stop by at a famous meat pau stall. Yummy! Dinner was a fusion of Japanese and Western affair. This was true Japanese hospitality at its best and at prices we could afford. I’m impressed.

Walking back to our hotel at night, I began to like the neighbourhood we stayed in. The streets are peaceful yet safe for us to wander about at night. The hotel room was cute, small yet cosy and the staffs are friendly. There was free internet access and unlimited tea and coffee available. What more can I ask for the price that I paid!

I’m satisfied! 😊





Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb