Uni festival


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kanagawa » Kawasaki
January 3rd 2010
Published: January 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Keiyo University Festival



One weekend I met up with an old friend from the old place, Satomi. She showed me around as a kind of guide for parts of Tokyo. Neither of us live here, but we're just the next city over each, so no biggie.

our destination: Keiyo University.

Rumoured to be amongst the most prestigious of the Tokyo private universities (and with its 1st year campus just a stones throw in Hiyoshi from me) me met up and headed in. I was rather hung over as I had been to the all you can drink nightclub the night before for the 1st time. (in fact I had returned home sometime after sunrise caught a few hours sleep and was already back awake before some of my companions returned home, they had spent a lot of time riding the train system without knowing it - i got a call from one at 1030 telling me this, and I could only reply that I was already woken back up before he had go home, i left the club 20 mins before him)

Neither of us knew were it was, but we just followed the stream of people to it.

Once there we saw a ton of food stores (and eat a lot), wandered the corridors and saw the sights, clubs were performing from the dance club, to a music club, to the palm reading club, art club, kimono club, all kinds of clubs. Lots of food and lots of entertainment. Tanoshkatta

After that we walked around and saw some cool stuff, Tokyo Tower, the temple I was at last new years eve (quite a bit quiter there this time), a wedding at the temple, Shimbashi (where the drunked salarymen all go on friday nights - urban renewal and been to generous to this place in my opinion). At shimbashi there are many shops under the train line and its here that the drinking takes place. I found a few of the older fashion places.
We then walked to maranouchi (where i heard the great crossing music from kyoto). This music is apparently the sound track to an old japanese folk tale that Satomi relayed to me, i forgot it now, but its still cool.

Before we went to Shimbashi and after we hit Daimon, we went up a building for the company dentsu. This is an advertising behemoth in Japan, with about 70% market share or something. The building is pretty cool and has a great observation deck from the top, and super cool, super fast lift that just goes ground floor (or 1st floor, as there is no G is japanese buildings, the ground is the 1st floor) to the deck

All in all, great day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb