Welcome to Shikoku


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kagawa
February 17th 2008
Published: March 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

View from my hotel windowView from my hotel windowView from my hotel window

You can see the Seto Ohasi Bridge and the Inland Sea in the background.
I got my first real impression of Shikoku the morning after I arrived. I opened the curtains in my hotel room and looked out at my new home city of Marugame. My first impression of the view was a good one. I could see the Inland Sea of Japan and the Seto Ohashi Bridge from the window. Besides that I noticed that Marugame was not a big city. On my first day I was shown around the area by the teacher I was replacing. That evening we went to her goodbye/my welcome party. The party was in a nice restaurant and we had a nine course traditional Japanese meal: Tofu, sashimi, salad, teriyaki pork, rice, tempura, miso, melon and some weird gelatin soup that I never caught the name of. Plus it was all you could drink. I met lots of my new students there plus three other gaijin (Japanese word for foreigner) that teach in Kagawa Prefecture. I didn’t really drink much, but I ate plenty. I especially loved the sashimi. Who doesn't love raw fish?

My first Monday was a national holiday, plus my usual day off. I was taken to Takamatsu and shown the places I would
Sunset over MarugameSunset over MarugameSunset over Marugame

View from my front porch
need to know there. I also got to try my first bowl of Sanuki Udon. (Kagawa prefecture was once called Sanuki.) It was delicious, but I still prefer soba noodles over udon any day. My first week of teaching was hard. I was still feeling jet lagged and everyday I had so many things I had to learn and memorize. By the end of the week I had caught a cold to top it all off.

After my first week ended I moved into my apartment. It is a pretty cute place. By cute I mean small. The kitchen is the hallway, the bath is a closet and my bedroom/living room is about 7 feet by 9 feet, but it is mine! ^_^ I sleep on the floor on a futon and fold up my bed everyday, which I actually enjoy. (Those of you who want to visit don't worry. There is room for two. ^_^) The best thing about my place is that the views from my three porches rock. I can see the Inland Sea, Sanuki Fuji, the Seto Ohashi Bridge, Marugame Castle and pretty much the entire city of Marugame. When the weather warms up outside I have plans to hang out on one of my porches and enjoy the day. ^_^



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Main roomMain room
Main room

My happy little home. ^_^


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0788s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb