Steps, Steps and....More Steps


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kagawa » Kotohira
June 30th 2011
Published: July 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

An early breakfast saw me up and about at 5.45am and ready to hit the road to Kotohira by 8.00am.
Kotohira is home to the much famed Konpirason shrine and apparently if you mention that you have been to it most Japanese people will ask if you got to the top (I didn't try out this theory).The reason for this claim is that there are 1368 steps to reach the top and then about another 500 to reach the inner shrine.
With no other real plans for the day and being a glutton for punishment I decided to set myself the challenge of making it to the Inner Shrine.
HIndsight is a wonderful thing as this was not the most sensible idea with the temperature creeping into the 30s.
However I was not the only fool hardy one to do this as tour group after tour group headed up the steps in quick succe ssion (although most stopped at the main Shrine).
The ascent to Gohan Hall and Ema Pavillion didn't feel too bad as the run of steps was broken up into sets with handy rest spots along the way and there was also the beautiful views and scenary to distract but my god was it it hot!!
I continued to the Inner Shrine and this was where I started to feel pain and regret my decision as the climb felt never ending. After every turn there seemed to be another steep flight of steps but I plugged on buoyed by equally suffering company and encouraging shouts of "Ganbatte" from people descending their climb.
At the top there was a light rain shower which was more than a welcome relief as I stood looking out at the spectacular view over the town.
Walking down I was pleased that I had achieved my goal but was more than well aware that I would be feeling every step of this climb again come the morning.
The weather continued to get hotter as I embarked on the journey to Takamatsu. With no one telling me I had to change trains and the announcements being in Japanese only it was left to some kind lady sat near me on the train to help me reach my destination.
She proceeded to chaperone me for the remainder of the journey and chatted away to me for a good half an hour or so. I still don't really know what most of it was about but I did get that she wanted my address in Japan, thought I was a student and wanted to know how old I was. I duly answered these questions but she wouldn't believe my age (I must have done something right with the make up that morning).
At Takamatsu I left my belongings in a locker (a very handy service that I have relied on during my time here) and headed to Ritsurin Koen which is one of the most beautiful gardens in the country and took 100 years to complete.
Now by this point I have lost my umbrella (don't know where or when) and sods law dictates that a torrential downpour starts, soaking me all the way to the park.
Once there however there were free umbrellas and wouldn't you just know it that as soon as I lay my hands on one it stops raining and the sun came out..
The garden has several courses which take an hour or so to walk and winds around several ponds, bridges, islands and a couple of tea houses for good measure.
It was a truly stunning setting and every time I stopped the view was totally different..I guess that was the idea to make an ever changing visual using nature as a natural canvas. I summised looking at the rich and varying hues of green that it was worth getting soaked for.
I headed back to find my hotel via Japan's longest covered shopping arcade (2.7km)as it was a good place to get out of the sun and avoid adding to my sunburn.
Exhausted and hot I relaxed in the hotel for my one night and pondered yet another ferry crossing


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb