Classical sounds in Kanazawa


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Ishikawa » Kanazawa
June 7th 2008
Published: June 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Not only is there piped music in the lobby of my smokey business hotel for the night, but to be heard at Kenrokuen park was the most serene and beautiful music befitting of the location.....a japanese harp player.

My arrival in Kanazawa by train, 2 changes via naoetsu and nagano, was earlier than usual, and a great chance to see the city before bedding down in a smokey business hotel..........my reservation at the Garden hotel opposite the station was not on file, despite an internet reservation done 2 months earlier (I will be watching my credit card account closely as they have my details!)

So a blessing it turned out to be as the extremely helpful tourist info people in the station, open until 7pm, found me a close hotel called the 'Econo' hotel, for only 4725 yen. I certainly was not up to long walks with luggage, and settled in quickly before checking out town, not before checking the emails!

Today is a festival, and the streets were full of kimono clad women, what can only be described as karate clad men with Bruce Springsteen headbands, noise, officials with lighted traffic directing sticks and fluro vests, young
the vast industrialised plains of ishikawa prefecturethe vast industrialised plains of ishikawa prefecturethe vast industrialised plains of ishikawa prefecture

quite a contrast to the alpine region of nagano ken
tarts in minis with blonded hair (the trendy lot), young sports like teams with spikey hair and lots of laughter.................a really vibrant scene. Kanazawa station is a modern edifice, and most points in town are reached by bus or walking.

The buses were off for most of the afternoon due to this festival, and I could tell why after wandering to Kanazawa castle and Kenrokuen park. Entry was free tonight, masny were hanging around the castle aream and a concert had been arranged by this most beautiful harp player who obviously had buckets of talent going from some Englsih speakers I met there. I wish I had some gift like that. The atmosphere was moody, the low light reflecting on the uppermost pond, and the harp sounds permeating the air and pleasuring the ears.......I felt a bit teary after that I have to say! Harden up girl...

Tomorrow....kanazawa sightseeing bus, and a long haul to Akita in Akita ken, stopping point for the big Hokkaido!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

crowd managementcrowd management
crowd management

festival time means business for the official folk


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb