5 Day Weekend, よかった!!!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Ibaraki » Mito
November 21st 2008
Published: November 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

So we have Mon, Tues and Wed off!! Hurray. The funny thing is (yes I know the Japanese don't celebrate Thanksgiving but this holiday is some kind of day of thanks holiday) we have class when it is actually Thanksgiving. The exact opposite in America (class Mon, Tues, Wed and off Thurs and Fri). Oh well. Tomorrow is the Kashima trip. Should be interesting if not a bit boring. All my Nihon-jin friends (Japanese friends) say they find Kashima and the places we are stopping by on the way are extremely boring and are only going to save us and spend time with us. Sunday is going to be amazing!!!
First, I am going to Mito Eki (station) by myself. Haven't had the courage to do that yet. I am going in the morning to meet my friend Yumi and she, Miki and I are going to the aquarium in Orai, I think that's the spelling, still can't read Kanji too well. What's great about it is that 1. I get to hang out with my twin (Yumi and I are waaaaaaay too much alike. She is seriously the Japanese version of me, I kid you not) and 2. They totally have dolphins!!!!!! That part totally rocks. And it's right by the ocean (think Monterrey Bay). I am sooooo excited. Then sometime on Mon or Tues or maybe even Wed, I am going to hang out with Jie Jie (older sister, Eina, who totally takes care of me even though she is Chinese, knows a little Japanese and even less English and same for me so communication is always interesting). I think we might go to movie, which I hope because I am dying to see Japanese movie in theater!! Then hopefully on Wed or Thurs we will have some sort of Thanksgiving dinner. The problems 1. No turkey in Japan, 2. No mashed potatoes in Japan, 3. Vegetables are expensive, and 4. (the most important one) no real oven... It should be interesting. Anyway, the center is closing and I will have no internet till Thursday, so maybe update then.

Oh, and by the way, the gallery... When you go to the main page it has a list of links (private message, subscribe, etc). There is one that says gallery, it is by First Entry and Search Blogs. My pics are there. I'll leave them up for a little while longer.

Advertisement



21st November 2008

Have a GOOD thanksgiving. I know you don't want to come back to US, but I am going to come to fresno in jan to see you and hear all of your stories.

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb