April in Kobe


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hyogo » Kobe
April 23rd 2006
Published: April 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Kobe, where its actually starting to feel a lot like spring. I´ve already been told by several other teachers that I´ll regret wishing these cool temperatures away once the humid South Asian heat settles in for the summer months, but right now I am enjoy the mild temps and beautiful sunshine.

My ikebana (Japanese flower arranging) lessons started last Monday and although I´ve only made one arrangement to date I really am enjoying it. If I can´t find a communications gig when I get home I might just open up an ikebana shop, seems to be an untaped market right now in Eastern Ontario.

I am also getting use to all my kids classes. The little kids are so adorable, that I am not sure who has more fun in the classes them or me, although many of the mom´s seem to be having a pretty good time too. We sing and dance up a storm, I am sure many of you will be excited to see my versions of Hockey Pockey and The Hello Song when I get home!

Today I headed back to Kyoto. For those of you make it to Japan and some point, and I hope many of will as it really is an amazing place I suggest you put Kyoto at the top of your lists of places to visit. There are so many shrines and temples and Japanese gardens it could take months to see everything. Having taken in the beauty of Gion during Leigh´s visit I decided to check out someother well know attractions today. Kinkaku-ji, also known as the Golden Temple is one of Japans most photgraphed sights. The temple, originally built in 1397 is completely covered in gold and is surrounded by Japanese gardens and a pond. It is a beautiful sight and the temple is reflected in the pond, which made for some beautiful pictures which will be posted soon.Then I was off to the Ryoan-ji temple which is home to a famous zen garden. There are 15 rocks arranged in a strategic design. You have to remove your shoes and sit around the garden to appreciate its zen like qualities. The Japanese tourists seemed to be able to sit and appreciate the zen like qualities for extended periods of time I on the other hand enjoyed the garden but I cut my zen garden viewing short after about 20 minutes. But definately another beautiful site to take in .

Another busy week ahead, I´ll write again soon.

love, Melissa

Advertisement



24th April 2006

"Hi" from Perth
"Hi" Melissa...it sounds like you are having a great adventure in Japan!Take care ...from MOM and DAD.

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb