Sushi and Baseball : Staples of Japanese Life


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hyogo » Kobe
April 3rd 2006
Published: April 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Spring is offically arriving in Japan. Today on my way to Koshien school ( a 20 minute train ride east of Kobe) I spotted several cherry trees in full bloom and many people enjoying picnic lunches under them. There was also a significantly higher number of intoxicated salarymen on the train tonight, which must reflect the fact tha these cherry blossom viewing parties are pretty popular and the sake is free flowing.

The new school year started on Saturday and I am quite happy with my schedule. On Mondays and Tuesday I am at Koshien school. Tuesday I travel about 30 minutes north of Kobe to Suzurandai school, its suppose to be a lovely train ride through the mountains and then on Thursday and Saturday I travel 40 minutes west to Himeji school. Its alot of time on the trains but I get a lot of reading done and the people watching is usually quite good. All of the staff and students I´ve met so far have been very friendly and welcoming.

Koshien school is located right across the street from Koshien stadium which is home to the Hanshin Tigers, one of Japan´s most famous pro baseball teams. I fit in quite well in this country because baseball is practically a religion here and anyone´s who´s ever seen the basement/ shrine at my parent´s house knows that its like that for the Fennell family too. Currently there is a big highschool tournament being played at Koshien stadium so today before work I went to check it out. AMAZING!!!!!!! The stadium itself is beautiful, covered in vines on the outside ala Riggly Field in Boston and inside the fans were on fire. Eventhough I arrived at 1 pm on a Monday afternoon, in a country devoted to working all the time, the stadium was absolutely packed. And Japanese fans aren´t passive, they come to cheer. The major cheering sections lined the first and third baselines, with clackers, horns and complete brass bands, it was very impressive! And the quality of play was outstanding, I was blown away by the skill and professional appearance of these highschool players! What they lack is size they make up for in speed.

On Friday I started my language exchange with my new friend, Esuko. She is a wonderful lady and we will be meeting once a week. We spend one hour talking in English and about Western culture and then she helps me work on my Japanese for another hour. I am learning many interesting things from her and look forward to our meeting each week. Next Monday I´ll also be beginning my ikebana class (japanese flower arranging) I am excited to have some of my projects to decorate my room with, something to draw the attention away from the Barbie doll wallpaper is necessary! The orchids I´ve seen in Japan are outstanding, and super pricey so I don´t think I´ll get to use many of those!

I continue to explore on my days off. Last week I took in the beautiful Kobe City Museum, full of a lot of interesting tidbits on the establishment of the city and Japanese history in general, I also rode the gigantic ferris wheel located at the Kobe Harbourland. Ferris wheels in Japan move painful slow but at least it gave me enough time to take in the great view of Kobe Harbour.

Marissa also recently introduced me to a great sushi restaurant not far from our apartment. So far I´ve enjoyed some delicious shrimp sushi and some tender eel sushi, next up is definately octopus and squid!

I hope you are well, please keep you messages coming, its always wonderful to hear from you.

Happy spring,
Melissa

Advertisement



3rd April 2006

seeing the sights
Hi Melissa, It sounds like you are having quite an adventure. Take care. Love , Mom and Dad
3rd April 2006

Wow!
Looks like your life is full of endless adventure. It must be wonderful to immerse yourself in a different culture! Jessica
5th April 2006

It sounds so beautiful where you are. Enjoy those train rides, and conversations with locals..always so much fun! Luv and miss you, Amanda
6th April 2006

Your Friend
Fennell! you are the best! I miss you!

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb