Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hyogo » Kobe
March 11th 2006
Published: March 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

At u-o-senAt u-o-senAt u-o-sen

A favourite restaurant.
My stay in Japan was like a concentrated dose of my life there. I met Kazu, Stew and Orie, their babies Aleesha and Joshua, and wandered the streets of Kobe, Osaka, Kyoto feeling as though I'd never left. Real sushi, sake, ocha, donburi, ramen, soba, okonomiyaki, yakiniku... all worth the seven year wait.

Kazu and I spent alot of time together, played an impromptu gig (as a trio) at a favourite old bar - Sunflower, and went to a gig at a Kyoto livehouse to see his friend's band 'Frying Dutchman'. Kazu now plans to make his way around Honshuu, just living day to day, busking.

Shu-san is still missing after six years. They think he may be working on the run to repay dodgy and very hefty loans. Kazu explained he could only do this by packing up and moving on every month without a fixed address, to avoid physical harm, whilst making payments to a bank account. We all hope he is still out there, and that he gets in touch soon.

Now after only 4 nights in Japan, I'm feeling incredibly homesick for Kobe, even though I still understand, and do not regret my reasons
Real sushiReal sushiReal sushi

Take note, Aussie restaurants!
for moving on in 1999. I'm experiencing a completely unique and unexected emotion - I honestly can't explain it.

So now onwards and westwards - Vietnam!





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb