Sumo, Trains and Language Exchange...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hyogo » Kobe
March 8th 2006
Published: March 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The last couple of days have been very busy as I´ve begun my teaching schedule. Its only been three days but I´ve already met many wonderful students who are eager to hear about Canada and practice their English.

Yesterday I was assigned to Kikagowa school, which is located about 30 minutes from Kobe. The train ride was absolutely beautiful to my left was the sea and to the right was a great view of the mountains. Kikagowa is a small school with only 2 teachers working at it each day. As such I taught my first ever kids lesson, we learned all about sea creatures! The class consisted of 5 boys and one little girl, all were between 6-8years old.All in all it went really well, I taught them vocab words, we played some games and did a cut and paste activity and nobody ended up glued to the wall, so I was happy! After that I taught 6 free-time lessons which are essentially themed conversation classes, which the students seem to enjoy.

I also saw a real sumo wrestler on the train. He was dressed in a beautiful purple kimmono and had his hair in a ponytail flipped forward as is the traditional style for the wrestlers. He proved to be a very gentle giant, letting me of the train first!

Banking in Japan is a heck of a lot different than at home. In the last few days I´ve established my bank account and paid my rent. Here, when depositing cash a slot opens in the machine and you simply put your cash in, no envelope or anything. This made me VERY nervous because the polite Japanese teller just pointed to the slot and said put in, put in´´´. He must have thought I was a crazy gaijin (foreigner) because I was trying to stuff it in an envelope. Finally I agreed and was pleased to see that the machine counts your cash automatically. The bank staff was very helpful, I am going to have to get their help everytime I pay my rent because the key pads on the bankmachines are all in Japanese!

Yesterday morning I also visited Kobe International House. Its a center that caters to foriegners living in Kobe. I was able to sign up for an Ikabana class (Japanese flower arrangement) and found a language exchange partner, Araki. Araki is very eager to practice her English and in return she´ll teach me some useful Japanese phrases along the way. We´ll probably meet once a week starting in April. I am really looking forward to both activities.

I hope you are well and that life is good at home.

love, Melissa

Advertisement



8th March 2006

Japan experiences
Hi Melissa, March 8,2006. It sounds like things are getting more interesting for you. Your train rides sound exciting! Luv, MOM
10th March 2006

First ever blog
Hello Melissa, March 10,2006. I've really enjoyed reading your/my first blog. Your adventures are so interesting! I knew you would be a great representative of Canada. Luv, Leigh's Mom.
14th March 2006

Wow
Wow I wish i was one of your students it sounds like your classes are really fun. It sounds like you are having a great time and I am envious of your job, maybe I will do it after i am done my MSc too!!!!

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb