Day 04: The Journey continues to Himeji (Jun 2019)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hyogo » Himeji
June 26th 2019
Published: April 12th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday, 26th June 2019

My second half of the day was spent onboard the Nozomi N700 Shinkansen services to the city of Himeji, some 455km away on the island of Honshu. It was amazing that the journey only took slightly less than two hours to complete. The Japanese bento lunch box that I had onboard was a good mix of seaweed, eggs and minced pork which tasted great as usual.

By 5.49pm, my train had pulled into Himeji Station where Dormy Inn was another 5 minutes' walk away from the South Exit. I am always excited to stay at Dormy Inn with its in-house onsen facilities as well as complimentary ramen in the evenings. Also, I noticed that the room is normally more spacious than the standard business hotel rooms in Japan.

Himeji made an ideal base for me to visit neighbouring Kobe and Takamatsu on the island of Shikoku (one of the four main islands which made up the Japanese archipelago).

For now, it's good night to the world as I welcome to another new decade for me from tomorrow morning!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.36s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 16; qc: 89; dbt: 0.2633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb