Hokkaido trip


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido
September 11th 2015
Published: October 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Beginning of May.

It was a very short trip (a weekend), but I managed to visit both Asahikawa and Sapporo (including Otaru).

I left Sendai on the late afternoon (more exactly the port in Tagajo-station). I slept in a on a tatami room inside a boat and woke up the next morning in Tomakomai.

From there I went to Asahikawa and visited my friends and their newborn half-japanese baby girl.

Asahikawa is a very quiet city, with a lot of rivers.

I tasted the ramen and the furano wine, went to the matsuri and the school music parade. I also visited the Ainu Museum and felt what it was like to live in a real ainu house.

The next day I moved to Sapporo but first I visited Otaru and its beer brewery. Though I just stayed a few hours there, I really liked the city.

Sapporo is a cool modern but calm city. People were enjoying the sunlight in the public gardens and salaryman were eating and drinking at Sapporo beer garden where I drank a few beers and tasted the famous 'Genjis Khan' barbecue.

I had a peek at the old Government Office and the Clock tower. I was also lucky that the Sapporo University was having its festival so I had a nice walk amongst many food stalls.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb