Mud Volleyball 2006


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima
May 21st 2006
Published: June 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

My TeamMy TeamMy Team

Although I was not originally supposed to be on this team, they didn't have enough females. They were a lot of fun to play with though.
On May 21st a bunch of us woke up after 2.5 hours of sleep on a hotel floor and dragged our butts up north to Yoshida Guchi, where we met up with 15 or 16 other volleyball teams to roll in the mud.. and play a few games of baa-ri baru (lol.. Japanese can't pronounce "v" or "l"). Needless to say we were a little rough after dancing and drinking until 4am, but, it was worth every moment of it! What a day! .... and how many people really get the chance to have a volleyball tournament in a rice field? .... What an experience!

I will admit, when I first arrived (a little late) and saw the other teams trudging through 10 inches of mud, and covered from head to foot, I was pretty sure that there would be no way I would actually be brave enough to get down and dirty with my team. I have never been a fan of having dirty hands, so the thought of having so much mud on me was anything but appealing! I bought my special ninja-looking mud shoes and headed off to the changing tent where I proceeded to dress myself in the stylish clothes from the dollar store which Casey had picked up for me. Even though my brain was barely functional at this point, I did have enough sense to realise that Casey had bought me a white t-shirt, which was unavoidably going to get wet, to wear infront of a large crowd. Great! Something else to look forward to!

When it came time for my first match I was removed from my original team and moved to a team of guys who were in need of another female player. At first I was not too fond of the idea of playing with people I didn't know (especially in my hungover/grumpy mood), but it ended up being a lot of fun and the guys were very entertaining to play with! As for the fear of my wet t-shirt and the mud.... the t-shirt became muddy (and therefore anything but see-through), and the mud (although disgusting) was a lot of fun!

I think we played 3 games that day, and I enjoyed almost every moment of it (I have to say "almost" because I was definitely not happy when I got it in my eyes and mouth). Hopefully there will be another mud-volleyball tournament next year!

P.S. I was removing mud from my nose for 3 days after the tournament.. and mud from my ears for 7 days! Haha.. everyone knows I am amused by the little things!

HIGHLIGHTS OF MUD VOLLEYBALL 2006: Great weather (sunny and 28 C), and getting to meet people from the other kens (prefectures)! Fun times!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Game 1Game 1
Game 1

Soo much fun!
The end of a clean face.The end of a clean face.
The end of a clean face.

I can't even remember what caused me to fall here, but I ate it!


29th May 2006

Way too much fun ! I bet the Japanese don’t play this game though. They probably invented it just for foreigners – so they could get their rice fields tilled for free! Hahahaha
29th May 2006

MUD FEST
LISA, YOU ALWAYS FIND THE MOST UNUSUALLY THINGS TO DO IN JAPAN. HOWEVER I CANNOT PICTURE YOU PLAYING IN THE MUD. KEEP THE TRAVEL BLOGS COMING AS THEY ARE ALWAYS VERY ENTERTAINING. LOL A.M.
31st May 2006

Getting dirty
Talk about getting dirty???GOOD thing it was a warm day or would it have been better if it was raining so you could see who your opponents where.LOoks like it was a riot?????WHATS NEXT..???????.SUMO WRESTLING IN A RICE PADDY????yaaaa..THANKS for the entertainment.Take care. LOVE YA DAD.
2nd June 2006

Fun
Hey Lisa, Every time you do a travel blog I read it faithfully. This time I decided to make a comment. You are a trooper. You're willing to give almost anything a try - that's amazing. Thanks for letting me be a part of this travelblog. It's fun to read and look at all the photos. Don't forget our deal - if you come back in August :)

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 88; dbt: 0.0984s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb