Off to the Finals!!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima
May 28th 2006
Published: May 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Oh cruel, cruel fates. Why is it you doom me to being in this country where hockey is as foreign as bearded, afroed white men. Why now, when the Oil are going to their first Stanley Cup final in 16 years? Oh woe, woe betides me.

Okay, I’m done with the melodramatics now. Yes, it does suck to be so far away from the action while the Oil are within four victories of hockey glory, but my thanks goes out to everyone who has kept me updated about the Oil’s progress throughout these playoffs. Rest assured though, that despite the fact I can’t booze up and riot on Whyte Ave. with all the other crazy, boozed up, riotous Edmontonians, the distance hasn’t diluted the excitement of this cup run any less. I haven’t quite started up my own Bluemile here in Hiroshima, but thanks to the wonderful power of the internet, I’ve been able to follow a good majority of these playoffs. I’ve listened to Rod and Morley call several games, sometimes even at school between classes, which can cause some embarrassment at times, especially when our boys score. Possibly the most embarrassing moment came during game three of the Detroit series. I was sitting in the staff room listening to the game. It was overtime and I was really into it. Like, we’re talking white knuckles, sitting on the edge of the chair into it. Of course I put ear phones in so as to not disturb others around me, but that also meant no one else knew I was listening to the frenzied excitement that was going on thousands of miles away. When Rod called Stoll’s goal, I let out such a whoop. There was some fist pumping as well. Then I remembered where I was. Fortunately, most of the other teachers were out at a meeting. There were, however, still a few teachers sitting across the isle of desks from me who no doubt heard my hollering, but in the true Japanese fashion of pretending embarrassing situations don’t happen, said nothing. Besides, from the looks of things prior to my outburst they were having a pretty heavy-looking heart to heart with a couple students, who must have also wondered what the hell that crazy foreigner is up to now. I was quite red, but hey, it’s the playoffs.

In addition to listening to Rod and Morley, I’ve also been lucky enough to watch a few games over the internet. Unfortunately, for whatever reason the NHL doesn’t make the games available to download in their entirety after the fact like the NBA and Google are doing, nor can I download the games from the NHL website, like one can for Major League Baseball games. And unlike the NCAA did for the Final Four tournament, the NHL doesn’t yet make their games available to watch in real time over the internet either. My friend Justin, however, came up with a solution. By training his webcam on his television and logging into MSN and starting a voice conversation, he’s broadcast a number of games for me. The quality isn’t great mind you, and there’s no hope of seeing the puck on such tiny resolution (going full screen creates too much slowdown), but still, it’s way better than not watching a game. And just think, I can be just as frustrated as all of you with the CBC and their questionable coverage of the playoffs (I saw that Bob Cole and Harry Neale still haven’t figured out which Smith is which, as evidenced by the fact that they today announced Oilers captain Ryan Smyth would receive the Clarence Campbell trophy on behalf of the team). Does anyone know why there are so many damn commercials on CBC? I guess it’s the only way the cash-strapped broadcaster has any hope of generating some revenue. But come on, I don’t need to see Howie Mandel pitching for BP’s every time there’s a stoppage in play.

Ah but shucks, who am I to complain. I mean, at least I’m getting to see some of the action, and incidentally, I am incredibly grateful (and likely very much indebted) to Justin for staying home to broadcast Oiler games over the net for me when he could be going out to smash things and beat up people along Whyte Ave. And furthermore, it’s a real treat that the Oil have made it this far. What a great feeling to have the Oil in the Stanley cup final. I remember watching the Oil during those lean years when the team boasted such NHL titans as Kevin Todd and Zdeno Ciger. Back then Rexall certainly wasn’t the decibel equivalent of a plane landing that it is now. Heck, most nights filling the place to half capacity could have been considered a success. Now though, the Stanley cup finals are going to be played in Edmonton once again. The city’s on fire (metaphorically speaking, although who knows what happened after tonight’s victory) and I am super excited for the Stanley cup finals, even if I can’t be there in person. But I’ve got my Oil t-shirt, my Oil cap, my Ryan Smyth hockey action figure (not a doll!!), and thanks to Shauna, my life-sized Chris Pronger poster. Most importantly, though, I’ve got my Oilers pride.

I sure wish I could be there with all of you back in Edmonton right now. However, I’ll take a Stanley cup victory in absentia over no Stanley cup any day. Congratulations Oilers on winning the Western Conference. Now bring on the finals baby, and bring home the cup!!!!

Oh, and if anyone out there in Edmonton happens to be taping these playoffs, I’d really appreciate seeing those tapes when I get back. Thanks.


Advertisement



29th May 2006

You need to be in Oil Country Ken!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=meLpuF9UMvk
29th May 2006

Sorry, got excited and hit the send button too soon. The Oilers do that to you. I was actually thinking about you last night Ken and thinking about what bad timing for you to still to be in Japan. I was watching the game with a friend who ended up falling asleep in the third period. I was ready to scream at him and was thinking about it should have been you watching the game Ken!!!
29th May 2006

Whyte Avenue Drinking
Thank God you can't be on Whyte Avenue drinking. We know how dangerous that can get!
31st May 2006

I hit the send button too soon also....
...but I don't know that I want to add in the comment about Whitemud Crossing.
1st June 2006

me too!
i have spent much time with Rod and Morley distracted from my thesis writing. oops! and i've got some sad habs fans out here.
15th June 2006

This is why the cup belongs in canada and not state side.Here someone as far away as japan tring to find any means he can to watch the game, and the people (most not all) in cane town don't even know about or care much about hockey.I watched a cbc pre game interveiw in cane town were they were talking to locals and one lady didn't even know who the great one was. I hope you seen when the national antheim was being sung it still gives me goose bumps.ALWAYS CANADAIN NO MATTER WERE YOU ARE!

Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.163s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb