day 2 at Fukudai(Fukuoka University)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Fukuoka
May 23rd 2006
Published: May 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

my roommy roommy room

my dorm room. not a very good picture, but there are 3 beds crowded in a 2 person room. that is my roommate, Chris, studying Japanese.
I seem to have already developed something of a pattern already. I wake up around 6 o’clock, study until 8, and take the bus or subway to Fukuoka University for my 9 o’clock class. I normally start drifting off during my last class, and when it is done around 4:10, I return to my room and reward myself with an hour or so long nap. After that, I do homework till about 10:30, take a shower, read a little, and go to bed. Repeat.

I noticed today that one of my pair of paints has several holes in the back most likely received during the hike up Mouna Kea. I only brought 2 pairs of pants thinking that they would last me the entire time, but that doesn’t seem to be the case. Jet Rag, the thrift store down the street, has a lot of old clothes that I could buy if it comes down to it. I just hope that they carry my size.

The longer I’ve been the Japan, the more I realize that I’m slowly getting better at Japanese. Normally, my progression is slow enough that I don’t notice it, but it’s pretty apparent now. I’m just glad that I’m learning.

I’ve made a couple of Japanese friends already, one of which is Seigo, the Fukudai student that I’m staying with for one weekend. The other is this really nice guy, Kenshi. Apparently, he hosted a Georgia Tech Student last year and decided to make friends with GT students this year. He speaks pretty good English and has invited some of us to attend a lecture given by an English speaking professor. I don’t really remember the topic, but I’d be interested in speaking to the professor.

Not much else is really going on beyond this.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb