softbank hawks go go go!!!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Fukuoka » Fukuoka
March 30th 2012
Published: July 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We spent our last day of the trip in Fukuoka. I have been super excited because we were going to watch the first baseball match in my life. As we were handed some brochures, I found out more about the home team we were suppose to support - Fukuoka Softbank Hawks. It is the only baseball team based in Kyushu and it has been doing quite well recently. One of the key players on the team is a good looking guy called Honda. Whenever he is on the field you can hear women screaming.

On our way to the dome, there are many stores selling accessories such as hat, tshirt, ballons. It seems to be the Japanese way to have a fan with your favorite player's face printed on it. A lot of girls were holding them. I'm guessing that's referring to being a "fan" of that person. The audience are both male and female and they do particular things at different stages of the game it's like they all follow some rules that everyone knows about. When you are watching the game, you don't ever need to worry about being hungry or thirsty. There are staffs walking around the stadium trying to sell you soft drinks and beer. If you want something big, you can also go to the food court that's outside the stadium.

The game was really exciting. I didn't have high expectations but at the end of the game I wanted more . I don't know if it's the atmosphere that made me so engaging. The game eneded with Fukuoka Softbank Hawks beating the Osaka team by 3-1. It was unbelievable, everyone stood up and sang the team song. They even played firworks inside the stadium. Wowwww. I never thought I would say this but I think I'm a fan now =)


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb