Golden Week 2006


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Chiba
May 5th 2006
Published: May 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Maru the Bay: Golden Week 2006

That's it - 100 miles?

Well, for my first Golden Week in Japan - I'd say that it was pretty typical - Japanese style:

*Made some new friends.
*BBQed in the park Nihon-style, with beer, sochu, veges and sushi...then continued afterwards at an Izakaya.
*BBQed in the park American-style with beer, burgers, salads and rice krispie treats.
*Finally found the Great Buddah in Kamakura - with the help of some French-Canadians, their car - and of course, its GPS.
*Took a million "hai - cheese" photos on a picture-perfect day.
*Stubbornly attempted to speak my limited Japanese with a taxi-driver for 20 minutes in Kisarazu - searching for a non-existent ferry that crosses the bay, and an onsen with accomodation - only to end up calling my friend, staying in a business hotel, and taking a bus over on the aqualine (the longest underwater tunnel).
*Went shopping with a million other people at what I think is quite possibly the largest IKEA in the world.
*Slept (on the train - like everyone else, in the park, at my aparto...)
*Dodged the rain with an afternoon coffee at Starbucks in Shibuya (Tokyo), staring in wonder every other minute as thousands of umbrella-heads crossed through the busiest
Eto...Eto...Eto...

I think I was thinking the same thing.
intersection in the world.

...all while continuosly checking train times, weather, e-mail and calls....on my phone.

Happy Holidays everyone. Spring fever is catching in Japan...curious to see what this "May Disease" is all about come Monday.

Di 😊 xo...




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Amish StyleAmish Style
Amish Style

So far away, yet at the same time some things seem so familiar...(read the sign.)
SouvenirsSouvenirs
Souvenirs

Carving Ware: Samurai Swords
A Kamakura TempleA Kamakura Temple
A Kamakura Temple

So beautiful!
Sushi - Oishi!Sushi - Oishi!
Sushi - Oishi!

That's fresh tuna everyone - straight from the fish market, sliced with JoonJi's experienced skills (only in one direction).
Hai - CheeseHai - Cheese
Hai - Cheese

I just might have to finally learn how to drive stick so that Joonji will let me drive his van
Shibuya CrossingShibuya Crossing
Shibuya Crossing

...so I'm told, this isn't that busy???
Nice Shirt KatsumiNice Shirt Katsumi
Nice Shirt Katsumi

...all the way to Japan?


5th May 2006

lambchop sr.
if you are lambchop jr....who is lambchop sr? i never knew there were two!!!
5th May 2006

I almost forgot
how freaking hilarious you are! I've definitely been missing the "Diane spark" up in this beatch! Awesome photos!
8th May 2006

Hi, how have you been!? I am glad you looks so having fun in Japan! I just visited Boston before I go back to Japan. I had a good time there too! Talk to you later!
8th May 2006

Golden Week
Oh, Diane, finally you did it. Nice adventure. Sounds had nice Golden Week.
8th May 2006

Nice Pictures Di! Wish I was there. Talk to you soon! Love you- J
10th May 2006

sugoi!
Hey D! you've gotta a nice little... blog there. and Joonji looks like he has a something stuck up his butt, or other issues in front of his van. oh, and stick shift with the left hand is a wild rush at 60mph.
10th May 2006

Nice Job
glad to here you are doing well! Looks like alot more fun than I am having... Just kidding life is good, putting the patio this week for my back yard then I get to landscape! I can' wait to look at it. I had them put up 2 posts for the hamock I got in Thiland, can't wait to use it on a sunny afternoon. Never stop living the dream! Always, DWD
28th May 2006

Nonde nonde!
Diane, cool! chasing dreams....thats why we are here for! Me encanta! (not McDonalds hehe) love and kisses Jaja matane!

Tot: 0.265s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 6; qc: 26; dbt: 0.2269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb