DB-Shi & Tacos


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Chiba
June 20th 2006
Published: June 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

DB-Shi Does JapanDB-Shi Does JapanDB-Shi Does Japan

Do you still have any soju left after your trip to Canada???
DB-Shi has come and gone...and yes, we did do more than just drink beer and go to baseball games, I think.... 😊 It was sooooooo...... wonderful to have my first visitor come! I can't wait for the rest.
It's hard to believe that I'll be home in a few weeks for the Sisson-Huff wedding down in Athens. I can't wait to see everyone....
Recently, my days have been busy keeping up with work, watching World Cup soccer, writing a few chapters about international food for one of my colleague's books, riding my bicycle and ummm.....sleeping, I guess.
My diet consists of sushi about 5 times a week, Starbucks coffee and sandwiches....except for Tuesday nights, when we have started the tradition of cooking dinner at my house with the "boys from Kent."
Siyanara for now,
Di xo...
P.S. My apartment was COMPLETELY empty when I bought it - everything was either donated, purchased at the second-hand shop...or IKEA....thus, a summary of the weekends of my first two months here in Japan. Shopping! Thank God the second-hand shops are awesome!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Okubo Shot-teng-gaiOkubo Shot-teng-gai
Okubo Shot-teng-gai

Showin DB-Shi a typical Tuesday night after class at the izakaya with my "Kent crew."
Great Idea...Great Idea...
Great Idea...

Yes - that's a "mini-keg" in her backpack at the Marines game.
Tokyo DomeTokyo Dome
Tokyo Dome

Basically full...every night. Everyone loves The Yomiuri Giants!
Giants MadnessGiants Madness
Giants Madness

The cheering section is crazy! The Giants won the game - and they stayed there for about an hour afterwards...
Beer -wa ikura desuka?Beer -wa ikura desuka?
Beer -wa ikura desuka?

8,000 yen - That's roughly $8 for a beer people....
Bar MimomiBar Mimomi
Bar Mimomi

The Lamb - family tradition coincidentally found its way to my local bar!
Narita-SanNarita-San
Narita-San

On my way to the local temple near the airport...
TreesTrees
Trees

So nice....
Bonze - That's his name.Bonze - That's his name.
Bonze - That's his name.

I love the offering of tea in the plastic bottle. How cute!
Taco night @ my apartment!Taco night @ my apartment!
Taco night @ my apartment!

You asked for some pictures of my apartment, so here they are. You should have seen them get this couch in - a rope & 3 guys & some interesting moves...
My "Genkan"My "Genkan"
My "Genkan"

That's Japanese for: "inside the door - shoe area."
Hiro!Hiro!
Hiro!

My small kitchen! Check out the fridge!
The Tatami RoomThe Tatami Room
The Tatami Room

Yes - it's pretty much all one big room...with some sliding doors...but spacious, very spacious. :)
The smoking porchThe smoking porch
The smoking porch

Yes, I have a balcony too. Very convenient - seeing as aboutn 90% of the population here uses it!
Typical JapaneseTypical Japanese
Typical Japanese

Always gotta be a comedian!
The Thinking ChairThe Thinking Chair
The Thinking Chair

He's pointing to our university - Nichi-Dai - on the map!


22nd June 2006

loved the tacos
looks like you are having fun....miss ya tons....but so glad you are living the dream....
22nd June 2006

check you out
Hey Girl...way to go! I love hearing your stories. You go with your badself!
22nd June 2006

It's so nice to hear from you
I can't believe you're gonna be back in OH already!! I can't wait to see you and hear all about Japan. For how long are you going to stay? When are you coming to Kent! Kent has been so lonely recently :( Anyway, let me know when you'll be in Kent (I hope Tremie will be here too) Cheers Ed
14th July 2006

Fun for you
Glad to see you are enjoying life. Me? Taking care of the kids~Sydney and Lukas of course. Hope you can make it back for the reunion at the Farm next year. George, me and the kids are putting our best foot forward to get there. Miss hearing from you but love the blog. Cousin Heidi

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb