Lost in Translation


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Chiba » Narita
July 11th 2006
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

They're All the SameThey're All the SameThey're All the Same

This was about as much of Tokyo as I got to see.
Yes, that's right. I am spending the night in the Tokyo Airport Holiday Inn. Suffice it
to say that after today, I will never, EVER fly Air Canada again.

We had a 3 hour delay in Toronto due to the weather so I missed my connection in
Vancouver to Tokyo. Air Canada could not put me on another flight for TWO DAYS. They
wanted me to pay to stay in Vancouver for two days! I threw a fit at the airport and
managed to get myself onto the Japan Airlines flight that was leaving for Tokyo right
away and luckily they accepted my Air Canada ticket. But I had to run down to the baggage
claim and grab my backpack first because Air Canada would not send it over for me. Can
you believe it? Oh, it gets better.

THEN. I missed my connecting flight to Bangkok because the Japan Airlines flight was
late. And NOBODY would help me rebook when I got to Tokyo. Air Canada said it wasn't
their job and they completely refused to help even though I was supposed to be on their
flight originally. Japan Airlines said it wasn't their responsibility even though I
For RonnieFor RonnieFor Ronnie

This piece, commemorating Japan BMW's 25th anniversary, looked much cooler in person.
had
switched over to them. Finally, I nearly broke down in tears at the Thai Airways counter
and the nicest women there helped me. They managed to rebook me onto a Singapore Airlines
flight leaving tomorrow morning at 9:25 am. I don't know how they did it, because every
flight was booked and no one would accept my expired ticket, but somehow they did it. I
even gave the woman a hug and I think I might have embarrassed her. Oh well. They were
all really sweet and helpful. Actually, every single airport employee I dealt with at
Norita was helpful and gracious. Air Canada could learn a thing or two. So it all worked
out, the downside being that I have to pay $110 for my hotel room tonight and I get into
Bangkok a day later than. But things could be worse, right? By the way, Japan Airlines is a pretty awesome airline. I really
enjoyed flying with them and I'd do it again.


AM


Advertisement



14th July 2006

Holy Moly, Anne-Marie!
What a saga! But I'm glad to hear that you have made it across the Pacific and are well on your way. You have some large huevos, ma'am. And I can't wait to hear your about your continued adventures. Miss you!
14th July 2006

Gaaah - Air Canada blows
But you're in Asia now! The fun begins =)
14th July 2006

EEEE
I'm so excited for you! Soak it all in, sister!!
14th July 2006

Glad you're there okay
Heya annie ... glad you made it okay(even thought you had a few hickups along the way) .... hopefully I don't experience the same crap when I go ... looking forward to the next update!
15th July 2006

I would have cried!!
It will make the trip that much more memorable!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb