Recovering


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Chiba » Ichikawa
July 21st 2007
Published: July 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today, finally, I almost feel healthy again. Certainly well enough to resume class on Monday. I've felt very confined here, ill and unable to go anywhere or do all that much, and I really look forward to being able to get out to school.

My host mom must have sensed my restlessness building up the last couple of days, and she has been phenomenal in keeping me company and helping me to recover. Thursday morning, I had my follow up from Wednesday's doctor's appointment. In the afternoon, we all, except for Otoosan, went to see Shrek 3, which was a really fun experience, even though it was all in Japanese. I mostly followed what was going on, and Shrek's voice actor turned out to be a famous Osaka comedian, so I finally got to hear a good Osaka sampling. On Friday, I mainly stayed in the house and slept and read and studied as much as I could between falling asleep and taking my numerous medications. But it has been neat to see what goes on in the house when I would be at school, although it isn't all that different than what happens once I'm home, with the exception that Yuzu is at Youchien, and Okaasan goes to wait at the bus stop to pick her up at around 2:10 every day.

This morning, Saturday, I went to see the doctor again. I was prescribed more medications, but he says I'm mostly better, which is good news. After that, we biked our way over to Myoden for a little adventure, shopping and gashopon hunting. It was really fun. We all had lunch in the Food Court, and I had Okonomiyaki for the second time since I've been here. I really like Okonomiyaki. Before I came to Japan, I really didn't like Japanese food, but now that I'm here, I love it! Its just that the Japanese-esque food in America isn't as good as it is here. The Okonomiyaki... that's something I hope to learn to make and pass on as a tradition in my family. The first time, it had ika in it, but I wasn't all that partial to ika, and this time, it didn't have any, and it was wonderful!

Tomorrow should be really exciting, as well. Hopefully my health is up to it: we're all going as a family (even Otoosan this time!!) to China-town in Yokohama. Should be great, I really look forward to it. Also, next Wednesday, I'm hoping to treat my host mom to see Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. She's just started reading the Harry Potter books, and it would be fun to go see the movie together.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb