Saturday with the family


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Chiba » Ichikawa
July 7th 2007
Published: July 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today was one of the most culturally immersed days I have experienced thus far in Japan. Because my host dad came home from Korea a few days ago, we have a lot more freedom about moving about and going places, and we all took full advantage of it.

For starters, in the morning, we all went as a family to Yuzu's kindergarten (called youchien here) because today they were hosting a bazaar, an event where all the students and teacher come together to create a fun family social event with games, food, prizes, and a mini kiosk full of random things, almost like a garage sale. It was really fun. There were lots of adorable kids, all about 5 to 7 years old, and a lot of the girls were in children's yukata, and they were so adorable!! Yuzu and Koko played some of the games, got shaved ice, pop corn, cotton candy, and me and my host mom had fun browsing through the sale items. I found some adorable stuffed animals, two for 30 yen each, one for 10, so I bought then, as well as a 20 yen kinchaku, and a 10 yen Japanese handkerchief, so my grand total was 100 yen (less than a dollar). My host mom had an even better time shopping ~ I found an adorable little yukata, and it turned out to be the perfect size for Yuzu, and it is decorated with goldfish, so its perfect for next week's festival (goldfish is a perfect summer pattern), and it was only 200 yen! They're usually about 3000, so my host mom was really happy to find that. I took lots of pictures and tried to look at everything, but the kids were all moving around so much that I got a little tired just from the contrast against all their energy.

After the bazaar, we all went over to the next station, Myoden, because Yuzu had a swimming lesson. We left my host dad and the kids at the pool, and me and my host mom went to the Hyaku-en shop next door, where we went a little crazy. It was a lot of fun. I got all sorts of fun, cute little things, origami, fans, candy, and a whole bentou set, decorated with dragonflies. I've been inspired to try my hand at making bentou for myself when I get home. My set includes the lunch box, chopsticks, a chopsticks case, a band to hold the lunch box closed, and a bag to put it all in, all decorated with dragonflies. I even got a little set of tiny bottles with animal lids, for sauces, to be able to bring sauces with lunch. It's so precious. Right now, I'm feeling like I would love to bring up my children on obentou. My host mom slipped a few things into her basket without me noticing, and gave them to me as presents after we got out of the store.

After that, I don't really remember all that much, except that Otoosan ordered lunch and I must have fallen asleep, because I was exhausted, and woke up a little while later and ended up eating lunch by myself. But that's okay ~ after that, me, Yuzu, and Okaasan all did some origami together, using one of he new origami patterns Okaasan bought earlier today at the 100en shop. They were bug patterns, and they were really difficult. I managed to make the praying mantis, but I'm not sure how good it is. I also bought a set of that for my mom, as a kind of return gift for teaching me origami when I was little. I've got lots of pretty origami paper for mom now, I how she likes it.

At some point, while we were doing origami, karaoke was mentioned on the television, and my mom suggested that we go do karaoke later. Yuzu latched onto the idea right away, and so, about a half hour later, we were in the closest Karaoke bar, me, Okaasan, Yuzu, and Koko, singing along to kids songs and anime songs. It was really fun, I got to sing with Okaasan, who turns out to be really good. We sang some Amuro Namie and Koda Kumi together. It really is great for relieving stress. I'd always heard that, but it was the first time I've ever been in a karaoke box, and it really was fun, and I felt very much refreshed on the way home. I hope I'll get to go again soon with my host mom. I don't really have many friends here in Japan, but my family here is precious. If I can become close and create a lasting relationship with my host family, even if I don't make a single other friend here, I will be very happy. I really hope that we keep in touch after I return to the states. I hope I can, and I want to send presents in the mail. My host mom isn't that much older than me, and it kind of feels like what I imagine it feels like to have an older sister, the way we get along.

I think I finally realized today that I really am pretty decent at Japanese, when we were doing karaoke, and I was singing song with the children, songs I didn't know, but sang along just from reading the cues. There were English songs available, but I managed to make it through the entire time singing the Japanese ones with the family. Its so fun doing things with my host family, they're so nice, fun, and I love them all so much!! I hope they don't forget me after I've left. I know I won't forget them.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb