2nd entry


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Aichi » Kariya
July 21st 2007
Published: July 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ahhh I think I forgot to say last entry that there was an earthquake. Yes we felt it and the building started to sway but I thought I was just dizzy and about to pass out, but we were far enough away so that it wasn't a bad thing. I have too much to write and too little time. Everything is sooo small in Japan, the food are in small portions drink cans are tiny the glasses in our cupboard are small and the cars are tiny, they are all like the smart cars basically even the mini vans are compacted into small box shapes, but it looks very neat. The food is amazing and I love all the stuff my host mom makes for me. During the summer they drink a lot of ocha which is green tea and thats all I've been drinking all day. You can't find any tea here with sugar in it. I asked why and they just said its not done its like putting sugar into your pop i guess, it doesn't need it. I've aquired a taste to it so now i really enjoy the plain cold tea. I had a little accident with the toilets too. They have the electronic toilets and I couldn't read what it said so I just decided to push a button to flush but turned out to be the bedai, I'm not sure how you spell it but water was flying everywhere while i tried to stop it with my hands. It looked like it was from a movie I came out of the bathroom drentched in water. My favorite thing has been the food and I love buying drinks from the vending machines too. Luckily my host family speaks english well because NO ONE SPEAKS ENGLISH here. The only thing they can say is hello my name is ________ i am 8 years old. Thats about it and the hardest thing for me is remembering names, its impossible. they tell me their name and I forget 2 seconds later. They say there last name first and its so long it confuses me. like hello my name is yashitaka monamura, and they say it really fast so it just goes right over my head. I've spent all day and night yesterday with little japanese kids and it was a blast. I wish I knew what they were saying though. I met a 20 year old named takeshi and he is sooo cool and now he is going to take me shopping with some girls that I also met. I also realized its hard to meet any girls because they don't speak english so its hard to be able to actually talk to them. I have seen 1 white person here other than the other exchange kid and he was an english teacher at the school. OMG japanese high schools are nuts. I got to wear a sweet uniform and EVERYONE rides bikes to school it was a 25 min bike ride but it was fun. You stay in the same class all day and eat lunch in the room. when the teacher comes in you all stand and bow and when they leave. At the end of the day all the students have to clean the school which is easy but yesterday i had to get on the floor and mop the teachers office with a rag for 20 min. I just washed the same spot over and over cause I didn:t know what to do. the students are very well behaved and it is completely different from the school I'm used to. After school they have all the clubs and I joined the badminton team of course, but they only had girls badminton so i joined them. It was really fun, I saw the ping pong team and I wanted to join but they were soooo intimidating like they had uniforms and they held they rackets crazy and were like hitting it crazy ways it was too much for me to handle. Thats been about it my japanese hasn't progressed much but I can hear what people are saying much more. I:ve been watching a lot of sumo on tv. later

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb