Arrival in Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Aichi » Kariya
July 16th 2007
Published: July 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So surprisingly the Japanese don't use the computer as a form of entertainment as we do in North America. So I probably won't be able to put in many entries so don't be expecting much.

At the edmonton airport they took away my body spray cause it exceeded the limit of volume for liquids so i was pretty upset. The flight to Vancouver was very fast because we had personal TVs but I wasnt able to finish blades of glory. I had a 4 hour lay over in vancouver and it was hell. I desperately wanted to talk to someone and have a friend with me. Finally my flight took off and it was fun for the first 10 minutes. I sat next to a Japanese man who couldn't speak english very well and he helped me figure out how to eat my food. We had personal TVs but there was nothing interesting to watch. Most of the time I watched the flight plan. I finally arrived in Tokyo after 10 hours and not being able to sleep for 1 minute. Customs went by very smooth but I was very nervous because there wasn't much english written at all. At baggage claim however a man asked me some questions and I was ok till the last one and I had no idea what he was saying. After saying pardon me literally 7 times I just said yes and luckily that was the right answer and he let me through. I met my host outside and we took off to the train station. While walking I think I saw a famous Japanese man because everyone was saying hi to him and giving him high fives but I have no idea who he was. My first drink in Japan was a drink called calpis water which is called milky water, it was some kind of fruit milky drink and it was very delicious. Oishii. We took an hour train ride into tokyo and it was absolutely amazing, going by looking at the streets was spectacular just like in the movies. Tall narrow buildings with lots of people walking around and lots of lights. It was everything you ever dreamed about tokyo. After the train we got in a taxi to go to the olympic centre. The taxi doors open automatically and close! and they drive super fast. And the streets are so narrow, there residential streets are almost compared to our back alleys, I have some pictures to show you when I get back. My room at the olympic centre was like a closet, it was about 7 feet wide and 20 feet long, but it did the trick. I also took my first Japanese shower that night. It was very interesting sitting on a stool while showering, and of course it was communal like they do but no one was in there at the time. The next morning we shipped out and I rode the bullet train from Tokyo to Nagoya which took 2 hours. There was a typhoon coming but luckily it missed the island. I met my host family in Nagoya and we took the train and subway to Kariya. The house is very nice it is small like Japanese style and everything is very compact. They speak good english expect for the dad so I rarely talk to him, he burbs a lot though which is funny. I went to McDonalds today or Mak and got a ebi fillet which is a shrimp burger, it tasted like fish and chips, but it was good, and of course the serving portions were much smaller. Tomorrow I'm going to Kai's highschool and I'll be going there for 3 days so it will be fun. I haven't done much shopping but I will soon. So I will write again soon but like I said I won't get to use the computer much while I'm here so don't expect much. I will have lots of pictures to show all of you when I get back.

Dewa matta

Davis

PS my Japanese is slow but I think it's coming along

Advertisement



20th July 2007

:(
I miss you.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb