PADANG TO BENGKULU


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sumatra » Padang
May 26th 2008
Published: May 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My journey begins in the city (Kota) of Padang, West Sumatra (Sumatra Barat). I have good knowledge of the city and many friends that I know who live and study there because I studied part of my University degree there over the 2007-2008 Christmas Holiday period. During this time of study I only got a limited amount of Traveling done in Sumatra. It is now coming up to my mid semester break holidays and I have scraped together some cash and purchased air tickets to Kuala Lumpur then to Padang. I truly have never backpacked before apart from when I went from various locations to and from my residence in Padang. This trip I am planing is going to "throw me into the deep end". I have traveled by nearly every from of vehicle when I was studying in Indonesia and found that the best and funniest way was by motorcycle (Sepeda Motor). I have about 28 days in Indonesia and I plan to backpack it on a Motorcycle. What I am thinking of is starting in Padang where I can catch up with some friends who can give me some advice and get me a good price on a second hand bike. Then from Padang I want travel via the cost probably as far as Bengkulu stopping off where ever, when ever. I have searched all over the net to find out if it has been done before however whilst I am sure I am not the first to travel by motorcycle in Indonesia I still have yet to find much valuable information on such a journey. I am sure i could do that stretch rather quickly however I am intending to do it over at least one week. If successfully done the next stretch will be from Bengkulu to Bandar Lampung, from there If i have enough time I hope to I get to Serang, Bogor and Bandung.

Advertisement



31st May 2008

Padang to Bengkulu
Hi Gila, If you head down to Bengkulu stop off in Painan and visit Edi Muli the guy who has a small homestay by the beach at Batembak Beach 2 kms outside Painan going to Bengkulu. Such beautiful scenery down to Bengkulu esp if you stay on the coastal road. See my photos at http://travel.webshots.com/album/349086449oYfNie of Painan and the views on the way from Padang. I really envy you- guess you are already on your way. Pamela. PS I have been pig hunting in Kambang.
12th June 2008

RE: Comment on Bengkulu Trip
Hey Pamela GREAT PICS! I am leaving next week looking forward to it! I wanted to know what is the condition of the coastal roads to Bengkulu were like? I had a look on google earth and they seem to be alright. I have four weeks of traveling and plan to head further than bengkulu via the coast hopefully to bandar lampung and if there is time some of the coast of Java also. I am interested in hearing some more information about the pig hunting and some useful info would be great about some suggestions of what to do and what i should see along the coast. sorry about the delay reply just my university studies this semester are consuming most of my time

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb