Rest of Asia


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sulawesi » Bunaken National Park
October 1st 2012
Published: October 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi everybody,

a few weeks has past since my last entry. Sorry about that but the internet conection hasn't been that good as I hoped. But here we go with the latest storries.

Kuala Lumpur

A city under construction - the headder I've kept in my mind since I saw this city fist. You can not locate a city center right now, betweeen the new well polished skycrapers you can find the old dirty "slums". Not really slums, but not that much better. Beside the Petronas towers it has also nothing special to offer. Riding the metro could be really anoying! Three different lines, opperated by three different companys so you have to buy a new ticket every time you have change headding. But at least they can improve 😊
I would like to come back one day, but this day is far away right now. Maybe in ten years, when some work has been done.

Singapore

Singapore - a nice, clean city BUT with a nation under CCTV. After Thailand and Malaysia this place was refreshing but in the same way it is also kind of strange because it reflects Asia not at all. It's more a western styled place as good as Paris or Berlin and NY and on the same price level - probably higher. I have been to the famous Singapore zoo. It is really nice zoo, with heaps of different animals. You can see, it is run by heart from all the employees, trying to make your stay and the life of all the animals as good as it can be.

Since I am interested in plants I've visited the national orchid garden as well. You can say what you like about Singapore, but if they decide to do some thing they do it properly. (Klotzen nicht kleckern) Just take a look on the pictures.

People at Singapore are friendly and provide hospitality in any way. While I was standing at the traffic light it started to rain. Next to me was a Lady who offered me here umbrella for shelter. Had been perplexed as anybody else maybe have been. Also you can left your wallet for an hour unattended and go for a walk. When you come back, it is most likely, it is still there with everything as you left it.
I guess this is because of all the CCTV, no public place without it. Also the local law is very strict and you can get fined for almost everything. Also they like to punish minnor delicts (eating in a metro station for ex.) with their famos birching. The cane (designed by doctors) is constructed for causing as much pain as possible and two strokes you have to get at least. Most people don't need more anyway because they black out after the first. Isn't that efficent? 😊



Indonesia

For me and many other travellers, Indonesia is the place they like best. People are super friendly and smile everytime. The beaches have been the most beautifull during my Asia journey. I've been to Bali for two days (little bit to touristy) and moved to Gili Islands (Lombok) for ten days afterwards. Managed to do my diving licence there so now I am a offical diver. 😊

Most time at Indonesia I've stayed at Bunaken Islands, north of Sulawesi, spending the time mostly with relaxing and diving. I've been lucky because there was a public holiday (thanks giving) at the local town and I have been invited. Drunk a lot of the local spirit (palm wine), maybe a little to much since I had a nice headache next morning. I've also been fishing with the local fishermen. No net fishing, no long line, no high tec! They are fishing with a 5m bamboo sticks and a fine line. You can trust me, the bamboo will get heavy 20m after begin fishing at the latest. Luckily I've cached one fish for the town but had been terrible exhausted that day and slept very, very well.



All right, lets move on to Australia now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb