Two Days, Three Cities, One Hope: “Give Me a Flight!”


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Surabaya
February 3rd 2008
Published: February 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Victims of HopeVictims of HopeVictims of Hope

Denpasar Airport, Feb 1st 2008
There’s not so much to say about the last two days. The weekend when I was plan to travel to many places. To join a test and visit my hometown Surabaya, to meet my colleagues in Jakarta, and to spend holiday in Bandung which I never visited before. Everything was well planed and booked, until the heavy rain and flood come. Heavy rain which happened since Thursday, Jan 31st 2008 at Jakarta caused flood in some places including the main road to Jakarta’s Airport. On Friday afternoon, the Jakarta’s airport was closed to all flight due to heavy rain and flood at the airport. Many fights from and to Jakarta are delayed or canceled. This situation impacted to national flight schedule. On Friday, I was on a trip from Denpasar to Surabaya. My flight normally board on 4 pm. But due to the situation at Jakarta, my flight was delayed two times. The same situation also experienced by all passengers from another airline. On 6 pm, I was so happy since it’s time for my flight to board. I sat at the plane, but suddenly the pilot informed that all passengers had to leave the plane and back to the airport
Study for the Saturday Morning's TestStudy for the Saturday Morning's TestStudy for the Saturday Morning's Test

My colleague Puspa and I had to Study on This Complicated Situation
until further notice since Surabaya’s airport was closed due to heavy rain. Oh No!! The Denpasar’s airport was so full of passengers from delayed flights. So it made me hard to find seat. I was hoping that my flight will be board soon. But finally, the time has come, and I flew at 7 pm.
Predicted the situation would be better at the next day, I continue my trip to Jakarta on Saturday. My flight normally board at 2 pm, but it delayed. The Airline’s officer said my flight would be board on 9 pm. By this time, the event I’m planning to join in Jakarta will be finished. I managed to include myself on any possible fight before 5 pm. The situation at the airport’s gate was uncontrolled. Since most passenger from many flight of the same airline are doing the same thing. It made the officer call the airport’s security. But the passengers and I have no choice beside keep pushing the officer. I included myself on the waiting list and hoping I included on the flight. I was successfully got the 5 pm’s flight, but yet, this flight also delayed until 8.30 pm. Oh No!! I am
Visit Jakarta 2008?Visit Jakarta 2008?Visit Jakarta 2008?

Surabaya Airport, Feb 2nd 2008
very tired waiting and waiting for flights. Then I started to consider going back to Denpasar. I am very sad to leave my holiday plan which I have been waiting for since a month a go. But I have no choice. Going to Jakarta and Bandung will only made me exhausted. I got information from my colleagues who already arrived at Jakarta. It took them 7 hours to get to the hotel from the airport (Normally it took 1 hour) due to the flood and traffic jam. And airport’s transportations such as busses and taxies are not available. I decide to change my destination and go back to Bali. Even though the flight schedule to Denpasar also delayed, I guess this is my best decision.
I arrived at Denpasar on 11.30 pm. This Saturday is my worst experience dealing with air flight schedule. I’m very happy to go home and to meet my friends who picked me up.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The Time Has ComeThe Time Has Come
The Time Has Come

Going Back to Bali at 10 pm


9th February 2008

Amusing...
It was real bad luck for you not to be able to get to Jakarta, but itwas amusing to read about it. You will smile in a few years about it...

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb