Indonesia Sucks


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Jakarta
October 9th 2006
Published: October 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I just visited Indonesia some time ago, to visit my friend from the university. He's an Indonesian, so during my vacation I decided to go to Indonesia for a vacation and visit him.

I must say that Indonesia is not a country worth visiting ... sorry about this, Andy if you read my posting. For starter, Jakarta is very dirty, you'll see trash and litter everywhere you go. I just can't imagine a capital city with this poor level of cleanliness. I was fortunate to have Andy my friend to show me around Jakarta, in which rarely tourists are shown to. Areas that you may see quite clean and sophisticated are only in the downtown area. I only remembered the streets named Sudirman, Thamrin and Kuningan that are quite representative for a capital city. Any other areas you go, you'll feel like that you're in some third-world country with poor people and trash everywhere (I think Indonesia is still considered a third-world?)

I was lucky I have a friend in Jakarta, otherwise I wouldn't dare goind around in public transportation. I was told to be careful when selecting cabs. I remembered there is only one company considered safe, called Blue Bird or something, with their cars painted in blue. I was told not to take just any cab since it wouldn't be safe. I was told there are so many crimes occured involving taxi drivers. I certainly didn't want to take the public busses. Wait until you see them yourselves, and I bet you wouldn't want to ride in one either. The busses are so dirty, so packed with people and the vehicles themselves look as if they're very poorly taken care of. I couldn't even find a decent information of which bus should I take if I would want to go somewhere, and what is the fare. Those busses have someone (or sometimes two) called "conductor" hanging around in the door, collecting money from passengers. I was terrified to see them hanging like that in the door while the bus were driving quite fast. Well, yes they have now a network of public busses called TransJakarta if I'm not mistaken, but the network was not vast enough to cover the whole city.

Not to mention the streets from hell. The traffic in Jakarta beats the hell out of any traffic I've ever seen in the world. Traffic jams everywhere. People driving with only one or two inches away from each other. The worse of all is the motorcycles. I even said to my friend that they are like motorcycles from hell. They squeezed their way to very small gaps between cars, sometimes even hit our rearview mirrors. They constantly cut your way, so my friend always to be extra careful with them and sometime he even had to hit the brake brutely to avoid collisions. What an experience ... I must say. I sometimes jumped from my seat when suddenly a motorcycle speeding through our side of the cars with just few inches away, in a traffic jam, with their loud noises .... a hell indeed. Andy even told me that be very careful not to hit a motorcycle, since even that you're not the one causing the collision, the car driver would be the one blamed and they could go rough on you asking for money. I said "what the hell .... what kind of people are they ... we're not living in the dark ages are we?" ... and Andy could just shrugged with bitter smile.

Another important thing ... be careful of the food. I got stomachache for 3 days because Andy took me to this food stall that he said very delicious. Well the food was alright ... but I got diarrhea the next day. Well, if you go to this food stall, you wouldn't be surprised why I got the diarrhea. It was a very small food stall, on a pedestrian. Just next to the pedestrian was this open sewer, and guess what ... people threw away trash into that sewer. Not to mention flies everywhere and I could have sworn a saw a cockroach running around. My advice is to stick to the food from restaurants, clean restaurants. It's a bit expensive, but at least your stomach would be safe.

I'll continue with my experience in Indonesia .... more surprises coming from this unbelievable country ... which I don't intend to visit again, at least not in several years until they could improve to be a more civilized country.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb