Leaving Indonesia


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali
August 31st 2007
Published: September 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My bungalow at G-landMy bungalow at G-landMy bungalow at G-land

I got a bungalow to myself. On the edge of the jungle. Someone did mention something about snoring? I only the caught the end of it tho ;-)
My time in Indonesia has come to a close. I've been cut up in two places by coral reef, I've now got a slight scar under my eye where I got clipped by my board and I think I might weigh about four kilos lighter than when I left London. I can definitely say, I've had an absolute ball! I feel pretty lucky to have scored some epic waves at G-land and an uncountable number of almost-epic waves so that for the first time in about 5 years I feel like the surf gods have smiled upon me with unrelenting benevolence. I was even lucky enough to surf Outside Corner at Uluwatu in Bali the afternoon before I flew out of Indonesia (it only breaks when the swell gets a big bigger). I feel very grateful for the good Karma coming my way.

Have I learnt anything from my time here in Indonesia? As I've been coming here for many years, I didn't really encounter anything new culturally. The Indonesian people displayed their usual natural friendliness and hospitality so that I've come away feeling like I've had a warm reunion with old friends. Nothing new there. I've had the pleasure
Board rackBoard rackBoard rack

My trusty boards and my lucky boardshorts
of dining on the unique Sumatran dishes of the Masakan Padang restaurants in both Java and Bali. I should have taken pics but I was enjoying the food too much to remember to pull out the camera ;-) I saw plenty of travellers and surfers in Indonesia which is a healthy sign that tells me that no matter how the fanatical zealots (on both sides) may try to persuade us otherwise, the people of the world still have a healthy respect and an intelligent interest in seeing the land and people of other countries with open eyes and minds. I guess that's as good a lesson as any.

So my journey takes me to tropical North Australia. I'm catching up with my Dad and my brother for a week's fishing and maybe even a bit of Darwin partying. Or is that an oxymoron? I'll find out one way or another.

ps. Matt, I'm happy to say I never had that wheelchair race through the desert! I left it until now to tell you as I was never quite sure whether it might come true or not.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

boat ride out of G-landboat ride out of G-land
boat ride out of G-land

most people are pretty tired when they leave
Javanese guys diving for coinsJavanese guys diving for coins
Javanese guys diving for coins

at the wharf before leaving Java
Ferry ride to BaliFerry ride to Bali
Ferry ride to Bali

and home to Australia!


Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb