Peaceful Fields of Green--The Rice Paddies


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
January 21st 2013
Published: March 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

After another leisurely breakfast of homemade coconut and banana stuffed pancakes, I decided to see the rice paddies. There are rice paddies all around Ubud, but numerous people at my homestay agreed that the ones to the northwest of town were the best. The owners' son gave me a lift up to where the side road crossed Ubud Raya. I walked up a steep, uneven concrete road, followed a little path down behind a brick wall, and then suddenly, I was engulfed in beauty. There were rows of green rice and palm trees as far as the eye could see. I started walking down the narrow path.

It turns out that it's planting season, so some of the fields were muddy and seemingly empty. But many had small shoots of rice growing. There were small groups of ducks every here and there, seeking shade from the hot sun. Occasionally, I had to step to the side (and nearly into a field) to let a motorbike pass; it's not wide enough for the both of us!

After about an hour, the path became as narrow as my foot and I decided to turn back. Who knows how far I could really go. I'd already been in a saraong shop with a very persistent keeper and I'd also purchased a ring from another man. There's something fun about knowing you bought it from someone in a Balinese rice paddy.

On the way back, I stopped at a restaurant I'd passed earlier. Still busy and surrounded by great views, I decided it was the perfect spot for lunch. First I shop in a rice paddy, now I eat in one! The view from my table was amazing. Lush green paddies on all sides and palm trees of multiple varieties scattered around them. My lunch was all organic, too. I'm not sure which I enjoyed more, the view or the food. When I had finished eating but was still finishing my lemonaide and taking in the view a bit longer, a man came over and asked me if I spoke English. Most travelers do, so this was a bit of a surprise, especially since I think I still look quite American. Apparently this Canadian was fooled. I took it as a sign that I'm becoming more worldly-looking (and not fitting any negative stereotypes) and set out back through the maze of fields.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



9th March 2013

Sari Organic
Was this the restaurant you ate at in the rice paddies? Reading your blog describes the path to this restaurant. We bought a hand painted mask along this route and ate at Sari Organic 2 or 3 times...amazing food.
13th March 2013

Yes!
That's the one. I don't use names of restaurants, etc, because it's free advertising. But your deductive skills figured it out!

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb