Bali Blog


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
April 27th 2012
Published: April 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

Well I have been in beautiful Bali for 11 days now. I was lucky to have my good friend Kristin join me for my first week here. We had such a great time together! We stayed in a place called Swasti Eco cottages where we were very well looked after. We ordered many fresh juices and herbal teas and had most of our delicious meals sitting on comfy cushions in the bungalow restaurant and had many swims in our salt water pool to refresh ourselves from the heat. We rode push bikes through rice fields and I was very proud of myself when I rode 9km up hill. (Kristin said it wasn't really a very big hill) but it was in the middle of the day and you could have rung out our t-shirts at the end of the ride from the sweat we were producing... It was so nice riding through all the small villages.

We also did this volcano trek (on my birthday) which started at 2.30am (departure from our cottages) and we walked for about 2 1/2 hours in the dark up this volcano to see the most beautiful sunrise. We were very lucky with the weather as the clouds lifted just as we reached the top. Kristin's head torch was amazing! Everyone wanted to stand near her to see up the trail. I of course forgot my head torch as it was 2.30am and my mind was not awake when we were leaving. We had warm banana sandwiches and boiled eggs for breakfast at the top. So random and ddeliciously funny!

We spoiled ourselves with $12 hour massages (which I've heard is expensive in Bali) and reflexology treatments (rubbing our legs and feet up and down). The massages were very relaxing but not quite like the ones i'm used to back home. Our cottages were so beautiful. They had an outside toilet and shower in a beautiful secluded garden. We even had a water feature the shape of a love heart. Very romantic. We had one princess bed that we took turns sleeping in. SOOOO nice....

Here in Bali every second person askes you if you want a taxi and every other person asks you if you want a massage or to look in their shop... It is very repetitive but it's their job so I don't mind. It can get a bit much at times...

On my birthday Johnnie came which was very exciting!!! He took me out for dinner in Ubud on his motorbike. What fun! The next day we made our way down to a secluded beach an hour away from Kuta called Balangan. It was so beautiful! It had huge tides. At low tide you could see the reef and vege out in the rock pools. I stayed there with Johnnie and some really lovely Swedish girls Johnnie had met in New Zealand, for 5 nights. We had many adventures at the becahes nearby and we had a few road trips together. We played volleyball at sunset and played guitar while spotting shooting stars at night. we went out to a pub called Single Fin one night which was full of surfer tourists who were getting very drunk as the surf was going to be flat for a few days. A bit of crazy fun.

I'm now back in Ubud and attended 2 yoga classes today. One Power yoga class and the other a core flow class. I feel really alive now! Had a swim in my pool and had a sunbake. Life is great!

Tomorrow I will meet up with all the people on my Krista Jane retreat and will be thinking about my future for 10 days along with Yoga and meditation classes everyday! I am very excited but also nervous!

I'm currently reading a great book! Everyone that knows me well would know that I'm not an avid reader but this is the thickest book i've ever read. It's called Angels and Demons by Dan Brown! I'm about 3/4 through it and I can't put it down. Get you hands on it if you haven't read it yet!

I hope everyone is well. I have been updated by Johnnie, Kristin and Nicki (German chick that was living at my house) about a few things happening at home. I'd love to hear from you all if you get a chance to write.

Sending love to you all oxoxoxoxoxoxo

I'll be seeing you in about 15 days... (Mum and Dad I'm flying in on the morning of the 12th very early)

😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0916s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb