I'm learning knitting!!!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Arunachal Pradesh » Tawang
March 31st 2012
Published: March 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone,

Just a quick message to say that I am still alive and having a ball!!!

Teaching Yoga which I am loving and visiting many villages with the children.

I am 'OMU' which means big sister in Mompa language (which is the language they speak in Tawang).

I am kitting for the children, so that they can keep warm during the 'spring', each night. It is spring time here and it is extremely cold in the morning and night.

The internet is really slow and has a mind of it's own so I;m sorry if I haven't been writing as often as you may like.

"AHH" There goes another explosion. There are 3 construction sites here at the orphanage and every afternoon / night they put explosives into the rock to break it up to use for the building. The kids are very use to it now but it still makes me jump every time.

My bargaining skills are improving, but if you know me well you would know that I don't like arguments and I don't really like confrontation so I generally just pay a little bellow the original price, which I am sure is far too much. I am trying hard as I promised Kristin that I would be an expert when I meet her in Bali.

I am learning many things. Hindi and Mompa languages, various knitting styles, year 12 Maths (I'm helping the girls study for their exams at night, which is bringing back so many memories; formula after formula), how to correctly use water coloured paints, Buddhism prayers and songs... The list goes on.

The altitude really does affect me. Did you know that I am 12,000 feet above sea level! I am going to a 'baby shower' tomorrow for one of the teachers and then to a special service at the local Monastery on Sunday.

Well, Love Love Love to you all

I will try to write again soon!

Love Joanna

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb