My last days in Bali


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
November 5th 2009
Published: November 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Monkey walking by my roomMonkey walking by my roomMonkey walking by my room

This monkey just was strolling by one morning while I was having my coffee. He only stopped for a minute and not seeing any food just went on his way so caught him from behind. You don't see that every morning.
Well I made it home. No matter how many times you take that flight it just doesn't get any shorter. But having survived another one I am sure to do it agin in the future. I must say after being away for almost six weeks hitting American soil is such a rush! Everything seems so civilised here. It is amazing to me how much we take for granted. To walk outside and smelling the clean air, or to seeing all the cars driving in an organized way meaning within the lines. Then culture shock the other way sets in. Walking into your own home with a closet of clean clothes, opening a refridgerator and taking out a carton of milk or pouring your own juice just the most mundane things take on a new meaning when you have been living out of a backpack. The downside is leaving all that Bali Sunshine behind, all the flowers blooming everywhere, knowing here in Oregon/Washington we probably won't be seeing any flowers until at least April. But even with the lousy weather forcast it is so nice to sleep in my own bed, shower in your own bathroom, wash your own clothes.
My
Typical BreakfastTypical BreakfastTypical Breakfast

The pancake is more like a crepe filled with banana and coconut. Got old after a while so stuck with fruit and coffee.
last few days in Bali were a mixture of Spa, watching a Fire Show, walking the market and saying goodbye to people I had met . The people of Bali were so nice and always there with a smile and a good morning (no matter the time of day!). While driving to the airport I was just blown away again from all the beauty of the Rice Paddies and the home architecture styles and just the day to day life of the Balinese. I know I will be back in the future and plan to explore more of this beautiful island. So thank you all for reading my blog and sharing this adventure with me. I really had fun telling of my adventures and plan on doing this blog again on my next trip so stay tuned who knows where the next trip will take me. I am just going to throw some random pictures of the last days of my trip enjoy!




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Ubud Terrace GuesthouseUbud Terrace Guesthouse
Ubud Terrace Guesthouse

Such a pretty little hotel. Nothing fancy but very nicely kept up. I would go back for sure..
Cute Little satues everywhereCute Little satues everywhere
Cute Little satues everywhere

Being on Monkey Forest Road I guess they like the monkey enough to add lots of little statues of them.
Just Cool!Just Cool!
Just Cool!

Reminded me of Mayan statues
Fire Dance Stage Fire Dance Stage
Fire Dance Stage

Not the best picture but it was so dramatic I wanted you to see it
Fire DanceFire Dance
Fire Dance

Unlike they other Dances they used chanting and sounds instaed of musical instruments. It was really something to see these men perform this. The show itself had about 50 people or so.
Fire DanceFire Dance
Fire Dance

After making coals they scatter them and the dancer runs around in the coals.
Fire DancerFire Dancer
Fire Dancer

Yes even though it is so hot outside without the fire add the fire and things really heat up.
Pretty Spa PicturePretty Spa Picture
Pretty Spa Picture

This is the entrance area to this small spa. It is so amazing to see what is behind closed doors set way back from the street. I had walked bu this place for weeks and only towards the last few days did I venture in sure glad I did!
So PrettySo Pretty
So Pretty

This was a slightly different spa treatment but really felt great
Flower Filled BathFlower Filled Bath
Flower Filled Bath

Sure going to miss this!
View from the TubView from the Tub
View from the Tub

Doesn't get much better than this.
So Beautiful!So Beautiful!
So Beautiful!

Just loved all the garden decor would have loved to take this home but wouldn't fit in my bag!
My Last nights sleeping quartersMy Last nights sleeping quarters
My Last nights sleeping quarters

The beds are so pretty but as hard as rocks.
View from my BalconyView from my Balcony
View from my Balcony

Last night in Bali I moved to a town near airport this was the hotel poo from my balcony. Spent almost a full day in this pool. Talk about pruny hands and toes. LOL
Beckys BdayBeckys Bday
Beckys Bday

Just thought this was such a cute shot with the girls and there dance head gear.


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb