red neck representing


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
February 17th 2008
Published: February 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

fire dancefire dancefire dance

i went to watch a fire dance.
Yea, so I went for a walk yesterday. The road went in a circle, which i assumed went around the whole village, but just took me in a different village entirly. As i walked through the dirt road near the rice paddies i started to realize im not in the right part of town. Instead of turning back, i thought maybe if i kept going in this direction i would end up back 'home'. Well i was right, but 3 hours later in the 35 degree heat, i was wishing i did turn back.

I finally get back to Ubud, where locals kept asking me 'transport?' 'transport?', i declined each time...i've made it this far, i am sure i can make it all the way. Finally after 4 hours, and nearly fainting a few times, i broke down and said yes to one guy. I told him where my guest house was, and he said ok, i take you for 10,000 (only a dollar, but that can drive you across the whole town for an hour)...i was so tired i agreed.

I get on the moped, and he literally drives for 2 minutes to my guesthouse. I told him
IMGP0599IMGP0599IMGP0599

i was expecting people blowing fire and stuff
i was not going to pay him 10,000, i gave him 4000 in crumpled up bills....he gave me a dirty look and almost sped off on my foot. Oh well....im just gettin sick of gettin ripped off. Some dude at the airport took my bag, carried it 15 feet to the inspection area, asked for a tip, i only had a 50,000....and he took it and asked for more! i said go away and found my taxi, to which i got ripped off again.

Dont worry, i have learned a few lessons on not getting ripped off....live and learn and be a jerk sometimes helps.


Here are some pics, mostly of a balinese fire dance, and some other random ones.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

IMGP0600IMGP0600
IMGP0600

but got a cool tribal chanting and arms waiving ritual thing.
IMGP0601IMGP0601
IMGP0601

i even recorded the chant on my camera, hopefully i can sample it into some techno when i get back.
IMGP0614IMGP0614
IMGP0614

this monkey man was cheeky.
man bear pig!man bear pig!
man bear pig!

Al gore was right! he exists in bali!!! (south park joke btw)
he wasnt fooling anyonehe wasnt fooling anyone
he wasnt fooling anyone

i knew he wasnt a horse.
IMGP0627IMGP0627
IMGP0627

he kicked fire at us, and danced on the hot ashes.
silly bastardsilly bastard
silly bastard

i reccomended some dr scholes for his feet after words.
when i got lostwhen i got lost
when i got lost

i found some cool shit.
army bike?  i want onearmy bike?  i want one
army bike? i want one

ok, i am not sure what this thing is for, but the bike is like, a foot off the ground, and there is a gun in the side car, that is attached to it...i am not sure what it is used for, maybe to shoot people in the knee caps, or monkeys. probably monkies. stupid monkies.
art zooart zoo
art zoo

as they called it
IMGP0643IMGP0643
IMGP0643

pretty cool. the whole village of ubud is crawling with places like this.
Putu and IPutu and I
Putu and I

my friend who works at a restaurant i frequent. Good english and a good sense of humor. Cute baby and she warned me i must get married before i have one. i will heed that advice.


17th February 2008

putu and I
nice pics!based on your picture,the beer over there must be quite good!! keep having a good time.
17th February 2008

Faves
Hey Ty, I love that your trip to ubud and Bali is reminding me of so many things about mine (as my camera got lost and I didn't get many photos). What is your fave dish? Did you the try the cheaper vegetarian satay peanut dish, I can't remember the name? How about the local street vendor spicy pork? The monkey at me dance was way more monkey like and even teased me and pretended to eat my lice. At least you don't have to encounter "Kuta Cowboys" though.. along with "transport"? I got "hey lady looking for a good time" from the mass amount of male prostitutes in Kuta... its a huge industry and island geared around pleasuring the rich middle aged woman... Lvoes
20th February 2008

Ripped off
Remeber that time you gave that guy in Vancouver $40? that would totally blow your Bali Budget.
21st February 2008

oh man it looks so awesome there!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb