BALI


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Tulamben
September 24th 2010
Published: September 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After Borneo I flew to Singapore and had a great relaxing 24 hours with book reading and fabulous Turkish food!
Then I took a late flight and arrived in Denpasar at 21.30. After tons of paper work I got my visa and took a taxi to my 'home stay' as they call the small hotels.
The next morning I got ready to see the Mola Mola/Sunfish at Nusa Penida. I was very lucky and saw two on the first dive!!
It was such a cool creature, very surreal.
Apart from that the diving was average and I had some reef wreckers on the boat...had to play reef police but they still kept on lying all over the reef..

Transferred to Tulamben which is a bit further up north and got an ear infection...arrrrrrghhh!!!
After a couple of days relaxing by the pool and getting cheap massages (which was lets face it not too bad) whilst taking anti-biotic ear drops I felt ready to venture under water again.
I dived the shipwreck and a few other sites and it was spectacular. Awesome black sand and soooo many things to see! Lovely to do shore diving again as well.
The safety was perhaps not the best though and no one made me sign any liability forms or check my card, quite amusing...but the dive guide was great!

Sad to leave I got up at the crack of dawn to pack as the electricity was out the previous evening so I could see to pack. Left to transfer to Kuta for the day before my flight to Manado in the evening. For the dry season I would say it rained a lot...like bucket loads!! It kept on pouring and pouring and I was dropped in the middle of the road...and it still poured. Took refuge in a 7eleven...then found a nice street with local restaurants and took it very easy until the evening flight. Didn't see so much of Bali...but liked it and would like to go back and see more of the north and east part!

Ciao!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0742s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb