Jatiluwih...be still my heart!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Tabanan
March 21st 2013
Published: March 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Ah..Pretty BabyAh..Pretty BabyAh..Pretty Baby

A newly hatched baby butterfly - drying on a screen.
Today's agenda was to be a fairly relaxing day as we drove up the hills towards Mt. Batukaru. Our beloved guide picked us up at 9:00 a.m. on the dot and off we went. I have been wanting to visit a silver shop to show Be how the artisans work and design. So Nyoman made a quick stop at Prapen Jewelry just outside of Ubud. Yes, it is a typical tourist spot but I did enjoy watching the creative part of jewelry making. It was very detailed and time consuming to make all the little silver balls and just watching them glue their designs together was fascinating. I kept thinking of my carpal tunnel issue and I know I'd be fired within the first week if I were given the chance to create jewelry! Ha! It takes patience to make jewelry look beautiful and I now have a stronger appreciation of that art.

So, basically, I walked out of there with a few silver baubles and 2 awesome silver and pearl rings! Check!

Next stop? Wait for it.... Bali Butterly Park! I know... I know! Yes, I know it's a "chick thing" but what did you expect? We love butterflies and Bali has the prettiest Lepidopteras. You can see huge velvety black ones dancing atop the trees in the gardens. There are blue ones with big bold yellow spots in the center of their wings. I've seen small bright yellow ones dancing in the garden in the early morning light. Ah...Butterflies! So, we stopped for about an hour (poor Nyoman) and walked around their sanctuary and just took in their beauty. There was a hatchery in the center of the garden that we were able to get into. One of the workers placed some of the newly hatched babies on our arms and shoulders. These babies were only born that morning and were waiting for their wings to fully expand and dry before they would be released into the larger garden area. Yes, it was fun and i'll post a picture or two. Get your Butterfly ON in Bali if you can!

Afterwards we drove up the hillside towards a place Nyoman said would make me very happy. He was right! I've been here two weeks already and he knew what would make my day. Instead of cool shops and boutiques or lounging in an air conditioned trendy
BeholdenBeholdenBeholden

Belinda is quite smitten with this new baby =)
cafe on the main street.... I was looking for rice paddies! There's something those lush green paddies that just calms me down. Hmm... maybe its the sweltering heat and humidity? The purr of insects in the background? I don't know! All I know is when I see them, I feel happier for some strange reason.

We were heading to a place called JATILUWIH. As we drove up the hillside, we watched different villages preparing for next week's big festival on the 27th. There were people working everywhere....leaving offerings at their temples, in front of their shops and homes. Workers carrying large bundles of bamboo decorations as women walked in the streets with large baskets of fruits and food on top of their heads. Everybody had a purpose and job and the Balinese take their festivals very seriously. It was fun watching all that activity as we slowly drove up the hillside.

When we arrived at the first stop in Jatiluwih, we quickly got out of the car and just stood there as our mouthes just dropped. We were in awe. This was a garden that only God and the Balinese had to have built. It was so lush and breathtaking to look at with the misty Mount Batukaru in the backdrop. There are nothing but terraces upon terraces of gorgeous rice fields. In the middle of these different terraces are some of the huts where the workers go to take breaks between their long day. Nyoman told me that most farmers begin at 5 a.m. and stop around 10 a.m or 11 a.m. to then return around 3 p.m. to finish their long day. It is truly hard work to produce that tiny grain. So, now I get it when I remember hearing my mom lecturing us kids when we were young about how bad it was for us to waste rice. I can still hear her lecturing now....

Jatiluwih is now officially a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Thank you! I love that they will protect these fields and hopefully there will be no more development around it. There is a smattering of hotels and spas around the fields but I hope this is all that can be developed at this point. This location is prime and it should be preserved for all future generations of Balinese. You must see this if you have taken the time
FestivitiesFestivitiesFestivities

A Balinese family temple...
to come to Bali. These paddies are part of their culture and lives so make the trip to Jatiluwih and take it all in.

Afterwards, we began our decent to Ubud around 3 p.m. I asked Nyoman to stop off at a local market so I could pick up a few things. I'm really sad because we only have 2 more days in Ubud and then we are off to Sanur to see the ocean. I have grown so attached to Nyoman and his family which includes Kadek and Made. They have made this trip what it is....amazing!

Ok, so tomorrow is our cooking class in the (wait for it!) RICE FIELDS with Komang and Putu. I opted to walk from our home stay to Komang's Warung. A warung is a storefront for business and this is where she cooks for her guests and gives cooking classes. Apparently it is in the middle of the rice fields. Wish me luck on finding it... ha!

Selamat Malam!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

JatiluwihJatiluwih
Jatiluwih

Mount Batukaru in the distance...

JatiluwihJatiluwih
Jatiluwih

Another picturesque shot of the rice terraces.
DurianDurian
Durian

Even the pictures smells....
Mangosteen oh MangosteenMangosteen oh Mangosteen
Mangosteen oh Mangosteen

My beloved fruit....


22nd March 2013

I get it
Liza..Jatiluwih is breath taking...breathe in the color green...breathe in your own heart shakra... A true feeling of calm and peace comes over us in a field of green...I wonder why? Keep this blog blogging...I am lovin it..feel like I am on the trip with you...well sort of.

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb