Seminyak: birthday time!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Seminyak
October 25th 2015
Published: November 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Here it is. My 40th birthday. There seems to be a lot of meaning attached to this one. It certainly is a landmark (most likely the half-way point of this human existence) but, like most things, I think it is what you believe it to be and what you make of it. A good friend reminded me that many people do not have the opportunity to live to this age and that it is an honour and privilege to awaken again each day. Thank you for this inspiration.

For me personally this birthday is an occasion to visit a part of the world that I have wanted to see for some time and go on something of a spiritual, soul-searching journey.

So I began the day with a yoga class at Prana, a very beautiful resort in the centre of Seminyak which resembles a Moorish palace. Aside from yoga, it features a lavish spa, a lovely restaurant, a courtyard complete with fishpond and water lilies, and what I imagine to be extremely luxurious accommodation. This was followed by breakfast with Dean at Dusty’s Café, a lovely and quirky little spot with funky art and crystal chandeliers. We spent the rest of the day chilling out like there was no tomorrow: three or so hours lazing on deckchairs at the beach (making friendly banter with the locals who continuously offered items for purchase), swimming in the ocean, a fish foot spa (think exfoliation by fish nibble), a massage, and a simple but delicious dinner at the local Warung Ocha. Warung is the term for a small family-owned business (eg a shop or café) and many restaurants in the area are called Warung.

Thank you so much to everyone that thought of me today and connected with me. All the gorgeous facebook messages. On my last day at work, we had a nice team lunch and the guys organised a beautiful raw gluten/dairy/sugar free berry cheesecake (complete with edible flowers) for me, as well as a lovely gift. Dean, as always, made me feel super special and spoilt me rotten. And a big heart-felt thank you to Barbara and Ian who have made this a very special birthday trip indeed!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb