A Balinese beginning


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Seminyak
May 23rd 2015
Published: May 23rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Roadside shopRoadside shopRoadside shop

Giraffe or life ring anyone?!
Day 1: Heat, humidity and a cacphony of sounds, scents and sights I haven't experienced in eight years welcomed me back to South East Asia, reminding me how much I love this part of the world. Indonesia is a new adventure for me; the reinvigorated memories are an entwined mix from my travels in Singapore, Malaysia, Vietnam,  Laos and Thailand...a SE Asian medley.

Arriving at my pre booked hotel last night was a lesson in why it's sensible to read The Lonely Planet before you board the plane. I had managed to book a perfectly pleasant though rather souless, mostly empty and not quite complete hotel catering for Balinese in the middle of, well not a lot.  Turns out Denpasar airport and Denpasar are not actually in the same location!  That said, the hotel staff true are to the reputation of the local people,  friendly, warm and helpful. Having arrived too late to buy water from the nearest supermarket, within just a few hours of being in Bali I found myself on the back of one staff member's moped balancing a couple of litres of water between us!  When in Bali... Tonight,  a different staff member took me to a
Paddy fieldsPaddy fieldsPaddy fields

Beautiful :)
local warung (traditional roadside eatery) where we dined on a delicious local dish for a grand total of £1.25 per meal and drink. Both refused to accept anything in return to thank them.

Emerging this morning I was immensely grateful for my locational screw up,  instead of being greeted by traffic, bright lights, tourist shops abd touts I stepped out into Bali as it really is. Lanes surrounded by palms and paddy fields, lined with little local stalls, shops and warungs selling wares ranging from fruit and dried fish to sim cards. Temples frequented the roadside, with small offerings of flowers dotted around doorsteps and bridges. Motorbikes are the Balinese vehicle of choice, whizzing around and amply loaded with people and produce (I spotted a family of four on one, and a father on another using one arm for steering and the other to hold his baby!)

My preferred mode of exploration is on foot so, becoming increasingly more hot and sticky yet ever more alive,  I made my way towards the tourist bustle of Seminyak and Kuta, revelling in the sights and sensory discoveries on the way. i knew I was getting closer as the shops turned
LunchLunchLunch

My first nasi goreng special (added chicken satay)
from catering to local custom to selling shell necklaces and sculptures larger than the average holiday impulse buy.  The Lonely Planet aptly describes Seminyak and Kuta, respectively, as 'flash, brash and a bit phoney' and 'loud frenetic and brash'. If you want holiday wear, sunglasses, a beach towel emprinted with bintang (beer) or other tourist tatt, you're in the right place. It has a buzzing vibe with numerous restaurants and bars, many catering to western tastes and showing live sport on big screens to the throngs of Aussies relaxing and letting their hair down. The main attraction is the beach; a long stretch of yellow sand with crashing surf and ample beach bars and surf hire stands to choose from.  I've already scouted out the best board hire deal and am heading to Seminyak tomorrow to play,  if you can't beat them join them 😊.  Seeking out proximity to amenities I've booked myself a nice little budget hotel in comfortable walking distance of the bustle and beach. My plan is to stay for a day maybe two before escaping to the greater serenity of the South Bali islands for relaxation, walking, diving and snorkelling. So in the meantime, surfs up :D


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



24th May 2015

Sense of Adventure
The excitement and spirit of adventure shines through! Have fun but be safe! Dad x
24th May 2015

Sense of Adventure
The excitement and spirit of adventure shines through! Have fun but be safe! Dad x
24th May 2015

Sense of Adventure
The excitement and spirit of adventure shines through! Have fun but be safe! Dad x

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1106s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb