My instructors course


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Sanur
September 29th 2010
Published: November 30th -0001
Edit Blog Post

I have just finished my IDC (instructor development course) and got one day before the exams start. I have just had a very full day of mock exams and almost got 100% on everything. I say this just before the last bit but I’m feeling pretty happy as long as I don’t do anything silly on the day, I should be an instructor in 4 days times. 

It has been just over 2 weeks of first aid training, presentations on dive theory, teaching skills in confined water and then in open water. There is another English guy who is on the course with me as well as a Swiss guy and an Iranian guy. The Iranian guy had a translator so whenever he gives presentations; we have to wait for each sentence to be translated. Luckily diving is a pretty international language underwater so it’s not too bad. I think it must be very hard for him above water though as the PADI translations aren’t very good and even though he has translation, he must teach us using English numbers and characters on the board.

The diving that I have been doing hasn’t been great recently. Sanur channel is the closest dive site and it’s not great. The conditions vary greatly and sometimes it’s shocking. There were a few days of heavy rain which brought a lot of rubbish from all the rivers to the sea and we had a dead dog bumping against the boat which was soon followed by a dead kitten that floated past. It smelt awful but very funny to see all the guys reluctantly get into the water. Yesterday was a much better day though as we went somewhere else and we saw 2 Mola Mola. I was unenthusiastic to begin the dive at this particular dive site because there was a reason why there weren’t any other dive boats there - very strong currents. However when we got in the water, it wasn’t too bad. I was reminded of how diving with lots of experienced divers means that you can enjoy the dive without having to look after people. It also meant that when we did see the Mola Mola only a few other people had joined us in the water.

I am writing this now with only 15 days left in Bali and I can’t believe it’s about to come to an end. I have made some really good friends out here and I would love to start teaching people to dive. I really love the lifestyle, the climate and the people here. I wish I had longer but I guess I would say that no matter how long I had here. I could definitely dive everyday without getting bored, especially in Bali. I miss diving already and that’s with only doing a handful of dives in the last 2 weeks. I think the biggest indication of how much I enjoy being in Bali is by the ease of getting up to my alarm each morning even if it is always before 7.

Hope everyone at home is safe and sound - will see you all soon. I’ve uploaded some photos that friends have taken.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



30th September 2010

latest blogg
Katherine lovely pictures and good to see some of you.·You look great . Not surprised you don't want to leave Bali,what a fantastic experience for you along with so many more to follow. Enjoy your last couple of weeks and good luck with your exams.How quickly will you learn of your pass rate? Apologies for not remembering youir birthday on 18th.Hope you had a great time. take care. penny x

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0787s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb