Legian


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Legian
June 12th 2017
Published: June 12th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Hi!



Ah, Bali. Bit of a place isn't it? This was my second visit here. My last being in 2012. This time around I stayed at the Sun Island Hotel and Spa in Legian. This was a great start. The hotel in my opinion was great. I stayed in the cheapest places possible on my last visit as I was on a year long trip however this time I went for something a little better and it wasn't expensive by any stretch of the imagination. The staff here were awesome but I'll get back to that one a bit later.

First up my hotel was on JL Legian and a 5 minute walk to the nightlife and a 15 minute walk to the beach. It was perfect for what I needed. If you like being just off the main strip then this is perfect. My hotel had two pools, one on the 3rd floor with a swim up bar and a shallow rooftop terrace which I found to be tremendous. My room was great, cleaned every day (Something I definitely don't expect) and very secure with my keycard for my door also used to open security gates on the main floor too. The breakfast was buffet style which alternated every other day was very varied if not to my taste - I'm a bit funny with buffets in general.

So back to the staff!!! The staff are very attentive and welcoming. They helped us get taxis around and were generally just very good at what they did. They even helped us with transport and basic first aid when my girlfriend was unfortunately mugged. This was above and beyond what I would ever expect from a hotel. I can't thank them enough for what they did and how helpful they were. Nothing seemed to be a hassle. I couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

I did find some lovely places to eat and would recommend Kopi Pot on the main street. It's really reasonable and a nice place to eat. The staff there were lovely too.

Legian itself is good though, just a little way along from the busy Kuta.

My only negative was obviously the mugging. This happened at about 12am on Poppies 2. Narrow little lane, pitch black, you could say we were sitting ducks however having stayed there before we thought we were being as cautious as possible. Unfortunately there is not a lot you can do with thieves riding past on scooters and swiping handbags - No matter how cautious you are! Fortunately no real injuries took places apart from a few cuts and bruises but if you are around this area at night just be aware. It wouldn't stop me going back though - There are some decent Mexican restaurants on this street for God sake :-)

Kuta beach for sunset - Enough said. Do it. It's a great vibe!!!

Cheers for stopping by!

I will grow into this blog game!!!

Johnno

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb