Off to BALI!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Legian
June 28th 2011
Published: July 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My bed in the dormMy bed in the dormMy bed in the dorm

Really comfy mattresses and they make my bed every morning!
I was up early this morning to get out to the airport for my flight to Bali! So excited it was hard to sleep the night before! I hopped on the plane at 9:30am and by 1:30pm I was in Indonesia! Upon arrival you have to pay $25 US for your visa which they put into your passport and then I went through customs which was all quite easy.

I had arranged a pick up with my hotel before I left Perth so when I walked outside I searched and searched for my name or the hotel name, but found nothing. When you walk out of the airport there are tons of Balinese men holding up signs for various hotels with people's names on them. I waited around for atleast a half an hour before I figured out how to call from my phone to the hotel. She told me the driver was stuck in traffic and to think about taking a cab and they would reimburse me.

I noticed another guy with a backpack waiting and asked him if he was waiting to go to the same place. Turns out he was and had been waiting for another hour or 2 longer then me. So we decided to get a cab together. We paid for the taxi and started following the taxi driver when we saw the guy from our hotel, so we got our money back from the taxi. Then turns out our driver didn't have enough seats in his car for all of us (there were more people waiting as well!) So me and the guy went back to the taxi and paid for another taxi. this time it cost 10,000 rupiahs more haha. Oh well.

Traffic is insane in Bali. There are just so many cars and scooters on the tiny roads. And there are no road rules, you just go for it! Craziness. The airport isn't that far from the hotel but it took us about 45 minutes. Our hotel is down a little side street so we hopped out of the taxi and headed down the alley. We checked into the hotel. To save myself some money I booked a bed in one of the dorm rooms.

I set my stuff down and was reading up on some information when another girl from my room came in. I started chatting with her. I sat by the pool for a bit reading my book. Later in the afternoon the girl from my room and I decided to head over to Kuta to do some shopping. The cheapest and easiest way around Bali is on the back of a scooter so we found 2 guys who would take us. Sorry mom and dad but I hopped on the back of a scooter and just headed off! It was so much fun! Scooters take half the time because they can weave in and out of traffic.

The streets of Kuta are so crazy. People everywhere and we were always getting asked if we wanted "transport" or "massage" or "sunglasses" or "just have a look". It was all a bit annoying. You just have to ignore them and keep walking or just say "No thanks" but walk away. We found 2 more guys to bring us back to Legian. But these guys didn't really know where they were going and me and the other girl got separated. My guy finally figured out where to drop me off but it was on the opposite side and the streets here are SO confusing. I was walking down the alley looking a wee bit lost and a Balinese lady asked me where I was going and she totally helped me out and told me which way to go. People here are really nice and they do just want to help you.

Back at the hotel the other girl was already there with another friend and we all went out for dinner. The food here is really yummy! A bit similar to Thai. We then hopped into a cab over to Kuta for some drinks. Yummy drinks but not as cheap as I'd hoped haha. About $7 for a cocktail which is pretty cheap compared to Australia but not as cheap as Thailand! I was feeling pretty tired from getting up so early in the morning so me and one of the girls decided to head back so we found a couple of scooter guys and headed home.

Just as I arrived back at the hotel Ashleigh and Laura from New Norcia were just checking in so we made plans to have breakfast together.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 74; dbt: 0.097s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb