ogoh ogoh


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Legian
March 4th 2011
Published: April 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

4th

It's raining again , it's just an annoying drizzle . Time to go for Makan pagi (breakfast).
After breaky I chilled out the front of our room for a while listening to a few chilled out Australian folk/blues tunes and got up to date with my diary .
We spent some time with Turika and her daughter Putu and picked up a few more t shirts . Before we headed to Carrefour a huge shopping centre to grab a few supplies for Nyepi day . As the hotel had a set menu of food that I and my girls really didn't want to eat and at a silly price of 180 000 rupiah each . It was my first time at Carrefour , OMG what a place . I bought so much stuff for cooking and a kitchen knife set . God I sound like a girl , but I love to cook and it is so cheap .
Back to the hotel for a swim to cool down before we join in the ogoh ogoh festival and have dinner .
After dinner we headed along Legian st , towards Bemo corner to view the parade . All the ogoh ogoh statues were lined up and ready to go , a great time to get a few photos of these works of art . We found a spot to watch along the over crowded street , just up the road from Bemo corner . About 730 pm the parade started we could hear traditional music and see blazing bamboo torches followed by the mythical statues . The parade oozed pure culture on so many levels .It was such an enchanting atmosphere . And to see so many children take part was great . It wasn't long before we had made new friend from Bali , UK and of course Australia we all loved the shot of culture we had just been given . The only other time I have ever felt apart of this much culture was the Loy Krathong festival in Thailand which was fantastic , but I think the ogoh ogoh festival was even better . I'm glad we came to Bali at this time it really felt like the Island of the Gods .
Bingtang time ! Selamat minum!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb