Welcome to Bali


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
May 18th 2008
Published: May 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

"Welcome to Bali sir. Please enjoy your stay."

As the customs officer waved me on with this friendly greeting and a smile (as all of the other "officials" had) I was headed off into the night in a new country. The heavy tropical air (even much more than Singapore interestingly enough) hit me like a freight train, and I saw a very developed "tourist destination" ahead of me. I had no agenda and an open mind. Lodging was foremost on my mind, and I had no idea where to begin. "Fortunately" (or not) there were more than enough people to "assist me" in finding accommodation in Kuta. My desires to hit the streets and walk into Kuta on foot were dashed by an aggressive "taxi mafia" whom nearly blocked the street with their taxis and could only wonder "who is this weirdo all dressed up like he is off to hit the night club hauling a huge backpack around insisting on walking into Kuta at this hour?" It's Dave Elzi, that's who it is! I finally broke a smile with one of them and said, "well, I guess I AM on vacation -- let's go (and leave me alone!)..."

Soon enough more than adequate (and cheap) accommodation was found, and I was on the streets of Kuta and it's "lifestyle." Security checks abound at every entrance to every bar, nightclub, resort, and restaurant. I see the effects of the bombings on the culture immediately and Bali's effort to bring the people back. I am hungering for real Indonesian food, not some tourist junk, and I am in no mood for mingling with a bunch of completely "pissed" tourists which fill all of the night-clubs I pass (where AM I? I am fascinated but just a bit slight disoriented and again in "culture shock" on this trip now coming from Singapore). Again, after much wandering on main (and side drags), a packed place with local Indonesian cuisine is found. A cold Bintang, incredible Mei Goreing (spelling?) and Satay -- let the explorations begin...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb