essex girls in bali? surely not!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
May 18th 2007
Published: May 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello, sorry its been a while.

Bali is...strange. Well to be honest I'm a bit homesick. I thought even though there were bombs here it would still be vibrant, but its not really! We are currently in kuta where the bombs are...its quite big and vibrant, but really just feels so empty. I think parents having honeymooned here I was expecting white sand and bliss...but we seem to be in the touristy side, with lots of surf though. However, I can't complain, this way we are near cheap restuarants and some good night life!

Indeed, we have had some very interesting nights. We went to a bar called Chasers for dinner (very good pizzas). They had free pool and good music so we ended up staying for a few games. Headed to the bar for a drink and this guy asked if we played poker and I found myself saying yes. (I always said it was a good skill to learn, and don't worry mummy, I didnt end up naked this time!) We played literally with monopoly money (indonesian coins), and I have to say I was doing very well, although Eric (the dealer) was helping me a bit! A really good night.

Also in one of the hotels we stayed in we met Kim, a lady who has been coming to Bali for 30yrs. She was actaully here during both the bombing, and helped as a volonteer, she told us about her experiences and is writing a book about them. She seems an utterly amazing woman and was so inspiring to talk to. We hope to meet up with her in Cairns.

Yesterday we went rafting, which was fun. Except that I have really hurt my knee and it doesn't seem to want to heal! Not a problem until we capsized! Capsizing also meant I lost my pink havianas! Deary managed to grab one as was hoisted into another raft, but the other went floating down the river! As many people will know those havianas took a lot of pestering, in persuading mummy to give them to me (they were hers)...and got me through a lots of adventures (Barcelona - Kim!). But fortuately the shop down the road had a sale on...so I just had to buy a new pair. Shame!

Tomorrow we move to Nusa Dua to see Deary's parents which we are looking forward to!
missing everyone a lot
xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb