Mt Agung


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Gunung Agung
May 7th 2012
Published: May 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I got chatting to Christine, a girl from Belgium, also travelling alone, on the boat trip back to Lombok. We got momentarily separated by a horse man who insisted i get in his carriage. we went about 100meters and then he wanted 70.000 from me! Here that's big money (fiver lol). I was furious but then his mate arrived and my idea of running off went out the windeow. Instead I give him 10,00 and stormed off.

Apparently this happens often.

Anyhoo - Chritine wanted to do aAgung too. We exchanged deets and then went our separate ways in Padangbai. Me back to Kuta to find Christoph.

Then that night at 8pm. Christoph and I travelled to Besakih, a village that has the great besakih temple. It's the holiest sight in Bali. Simply because of it's size and the fact that it's high on a mountain.

Christoph and I were left stranded by the temple gates at 11pm. No idea if Christine was coming with out guide. I was certain the street dogs were going to attack.

Christine and Wayan 1 and 2 arrived (our guides). Then it was all uphill. Constant uphill. First jungle. the path was wet and muddy and 20cm wide with bush/ jungle towering 2m either side. It felt like a maze. I thought of that scene in Harry Potter - Sen you'll know it - the one with a pre pubesant R-Patz in it hehehehethe gradient was so extreme at times I couldn't believe it. We were taking the south route but the shorter one I was told much later. At poiunts I swear it was around 70-80 degrees and we were rock climbing. Certain, near the summat we rock climbed for most of it for around 1 hour.

Best part was the fire we made around 4am. It warmed us up and dried us more importantly. along with the hot coffee i felt new again. It's suprising what a warm cup of coffee can do (Caz and Conway I KNOW you understand)

We had breaky at the top. Thanks for the oreo Christoph! The sunrise was undescribable. We had plenty of time beforehand to make ourselves comfortable so i watched relaxed and in awe of how nature can be so overwhelming. you copuld see the whole island. lombok across the way and the gilis. batur behiund and the shoreline all along of course. very impressive.

It was freezing though. We warmed up pretty quick walking down. i fell for mostof the journey. just like kili, tiredness had got the better of me. ruined the knees. esp. Christine's already bad knees.

next stop Ubud - We hitch hiked it in a flower mans van. lol.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.396s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.3446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb