Beaches, Beasts and Birthdays.


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Denpasar
March 1st 2010
Published: March 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post


Last year my birthday was in Darjeeling, India and this year Bali. Next year - who knows?



Firstly a BIG thank you to all my wonderful friends and family who messaged me on my birthday. I don’t believe that birthdays are that important, I have always thought that it’s the person who gave birth that should be celebrated, but when I am away they somehow mean more. Cementing the bonds of friendship across distances I guess. And if you are one of those people who forgot, so what! I wonder how many times I have forgotten yours!



The first thing I did was to set the birthday cards out that I received when we had Jackie and my birthday lunch before I left. (Photos in an earlier blog)



I declined the fried fish and vegetables for breakfast and instead went with an omelet! Then it was off to the Bali Safari Park where they were having a special celebration for my birthday. Well, not my birthday exactly but the baby elephant who was turning one. We shared the day.



It was a family affair with over a dozen of us altogether. We strolled around and looked at all the wonderful animals. If you haven’t been, it’s worth it. Really well done. Then we went on the Safari bus through the open areas. There were tigers, lions, huge Indian red cattle, cheetahs, orangutans and many more coming right up to the bus. All in separate areas of course otherwise!!!!!!
Much better than Monarto in Adelaide.



The highlight for me was stroking the tiger cub. I just wanted to pick him up, although he was a bit stinky!



That night we went to a favorite restaurant called Ku de Ta. A lovely evening with great food, too many cocktails and good company. Not speaking Indonesian means that Toby can say anything to the waiters without me understanding a word, so I had no idea that he had organized for them to sing happy birthday to me. I thought the singing was behind me, not for me! Embarrassed but loved it too.



Enjoy the photos. They will start getting a bit more serious once I am in India again, but for now I am having fun with my family. I am helping kids with their English a few times a week at a Bali orphanage but I haven’t taken any photos yet. Brenton from Bali Kids and Carry for Kids is doing an amazing job there. Such a happy bunch of kids even though some of them have HIV and TB. Poor loves.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Leaving early for Nusa Penida.Leaving early for Nusa Penida.
Leaving early for Nusa Penida.

We went on the Quick Silver to Nusa Penida for the day.
On the way back home after a lovely day.On the way back home after a lovely day.
On the way back home after a lovely day.

Toby had business on the island but I just enjoyed the activities. Did lots of snorkeling and the fish and coral were amazing.


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb